Skip to content

2009-07-20 How about some thread crochet leaves?

2009/07/20
tags:

Remember the crocheted flowers I have been making?

Here are the links to the samples if you need them:
One Stamp Wedding Card
Thread Crochet flowers on a CAS card
and
Thread Crochet flower embellishments

Well over the weekend I created a leaf to go with the thread crocheted flower.

2009-07-20 (2)

I of course only had cream crochet thread with me. I saw olive green in the store but put it back down on the shelf when I realized that my husband would give me “the look” if I bought ANOTHER craft supply. So this morning I decided to dye the cream leaf to mellow moss.

2009-07-20 (3)

I put 10 drops of mellow moss reinker into a mini spray bottle and gave the leaf a couple of sprays to see if the dye would take…it did! Here you see it on my craft sheet.

2009-07-20 (4)

DO YOU KNOW WHAT THIS MEANS? To make any color of flower or leaf to be an exact color match, I only need to have white or cream thread; a reinker in the appropriate color and a mini spray bottle!

Every one yell ah-ha! right now lol!

Here are my made up directions to make a leaf in a size to match the flowers you’ve seen me share in previous posts. If you do make some, be sure to link back to this post so I can see them!

LEAF
white or cream crochet thread and #2 metal crochet hook

Chain 13
in this order in each stitch: sc 1; half double; half double; double; double; tripple; tripple; tripple; double; double; half double; half double.

In same stitch as the last half double; sc to turn.
Again, in same stitch, half double; continue as normal: half double; double; double; tripple; tripple; tripple; double; double; half double; half double; single and slip stitch to end.

After completing; weave in any lose threads and snip off excess.
Spray with dye reinker mixture to be an exact color match to you project!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 2009/07/21 9:17 am

    Awesome! Nice leaves, great way to color them! Can’t wait to see them on a card.

  2. 2009/07/21 4:54 pm

    every once in awile i come upon a blog that is so full of fresh and new ideas. well….i found you! the crochet flowers! thank you for the directions! i don’t know if i will get to try it anytime soon. i appreciate your blog so much. fun! and, thank you!

  3. Patricia S. Dumas permalink
    2011/02/20 7:38 pm

    great, easy leaf… I thought I knew all the craft stuff.. but, what is a reinker? And the mini sprayer? thanks for taking the time to put up directions.. always appreciated…
    pat

    • 2011/02/21 7:08 am

      Patricia:

      Reinker: A bottle of ink to re-ink a rubber stamp pad. The reason I used these? I’m a rubber stamper and that is the ink color I used with the rest of the rubber stamping.
      Mini Sprayer: or also a mini mister…just a tiny spray pump bottle.

      Hope this helps!

Trackbacks

  1. 2009-07-21 Thread crochet flower with leaves « The Craftiblog
  2. 2010-10-19 Crochet flowers « The Craftiblog
  3. 2013-11-24 Silk Flower & Burlap | The Craftiblog

Leave a comment