Skip to content

2009-07-09 Thread Crochet Flowers on a CAS Card

2009/07/10

Last week I picked up some crochet hooks and thread so I could try Nicole Heady’s flowers. I have quite the little pile of them and am thinking about what I am going to do with them.

2009-07-06

Then yesterday I was out and about and picked up a ball of cream thread. I’m a dunce when it comes to crochet thread. I didn’t know they came in sizes or thicknesses. The one I picked ended up being quite thin. So I doubled the thread and crocheted the flower with a double thickness. It turned out bigger and fluffier.

And this card is also made totally from scraps. I went into the scrap box and came away with not only the DSP but the scrap of ribbon as well.

2009-07-09 (1)

This is quite simple…I’ll just say that the leaves are a organdy ribbon folded in half and anchored with the same brad that is the flower center. And yes, I used the brad to anchor it to the base card as well; no glue added. Can you see the gold glimmer in background? I sprayed the whole thing with Gold Pearl-X. It gives the finished piece a nice sheen.

2009-07-09 (2)

This photo shows a close up the flower. And can you see the faux pearls in the background? These are some of my homemade dew drops that are painted with something that is called Iridescent Medium. See this post for a tutorial on dew drops. The word sweetness is by Hero Arts.

This is the Saturday Sketch Challenge from Stamping 411…just flipped it.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Lola G. permalink
    2009/07/10 2:04 pm

    Your crocheted flowers are beautiful! Do you think it’s still possible to learn how to crochet at the age of 55? I never was taught when I was younger, even though I had relatives who did it all the time. but I’m really liking these flowers that have been so popular in recent months. I’m not a quick study with handicrafts, but it seems like it would be so nice to be able to make something that might resemble this.

    • 2009/07/10 2:08 pm

      Lola, Thank you for your sweet comment!
      Can you learn at 55? I should hope so; I’m only a year or two younger than that now. My daughter has been teaching me as she is the avid crocheter in my family.
      My suggestion would be to start with yarn (bigger so you can see it) and then give the thread a try. It’s stinkin’ tiny and until you get the basic’s; you won’t be able to SEE what you are doing.
      Hope that helps!

  2. 2009/07/11 7:13 am

    Very pretty card! Love the crocheted flowers. I have a stack of them myself – in several different colors – to use up!:)

  3. Claire Scott permalink
    2009/07/11 8:59 am

    Y’all are the most amazing and talented people. May the Lord Bless you even more each day . I rarely have time to copy any of your fantastic projects, but go to your site as often as possible with the hopes I will have time to do some of them. Thanks for sharing all your ideas and your tutorials are unbelievable…the detail is so appreciated. I am a good copier, not too good at orginial ideas, maybe have had a couple :-)… so I could follow your directions probably with my eyes closed!!!!! THanks again and keep up the great job. claire

  4. Chris Hnatiuk permalink
    2009/07/11 12:01 pm

    Bonnie,
    I have been on holidays for a while, and just got back to check out your blog. Wow! I have to say that your creations are truly works of ART!!! I absolutely love all your neat ideas, your creative mind and attention to detail. Thank you for being such a wonderful inspiration!
    Chris in Calgary, AB Canada

  5. 2009/07/11 11:11 pm

    These are beautiful flowers and that is a gorgeous card.

  6. 2009/07/12 4:28 pm

    wish I knew how to crochet – very pretty and I love your card. TFS!

  7. 2009/07/13 3:17 pm

    Stunning as usual 😉 I prefer your doubled-up flowers, they are beautiful!

  8. 2009/07/14 2:15 pm

    Wow Bonnie, lovely, I too made quite a few of these when I saw them on Nicole’s blog! but have yet to put them together on a card! TFS, I use to crochet many moon ago, so it was fun to try it again in me old age…LOL! HUgs always!

  9. Roberta Noddin permalink
    2009/07/16 9:18 am

    Hi I am happy that you did made dollies crochet. I love it. I always made it when I was little girl. I have yarns. Many of my friends hate it. Thank you for your sharing.

Trackbacks

  1. 2009-07-20 How about some thread crochet leaves? « The Craftiblog
  2. 2009-08-28 My scrap box is getting ready to explode! « The Craftiblog
  3. 2009-09-26 Recycling a plastic yogurt lid w/tutorial on how to « The Craftiblog
  4. 2010-10-19 Crochet flowers « The Craftiblog

Leave a Reply

