Skip to content

2018-04-27; Recollections flowers – stepped up

2018/04/27

When you buy a box of assorted Recollections flowers; you always get a color or shape you are not in love with.  In this sample I’m showing what they flowers looked like before & after.  The flowers on the lower left are a dirty beige color and I had them in all shapes and sizes.  They really came that way, looking kind of dirty to me.  The photo on the right shows how I stepped them up by dying (the green base leaves), scrunching/stacking & glitter gluing them together.

I think the top flower is stacked 6 layers  with assorted petal shapes having been stacked.  The lower, smaller one is 4 layers and look to all be the general shape of petal.
2018-04-26 (3)

And here a card that I added the stepped up flower to.  I kept to a beige color scheme so that the flower would match better.   I also used a couple of new dollar store finds…the white flowers and the gold colored gems.  Other dollar store additions are some glittered acrylic dots and the 3-d cherish sentiment sticker.

2018-04-27 (2)

Here is a close look at those flowers.  The stepped up flower had a space in the center so I added a 1/2 pearl with more glitter glue.  The white flowers as mentioned earlier, are a new dollar store find.  I also added lots of assorted lace on this card along with leaves found on my desk.  I just tore them in bits and tucked them in where it needed some filler.  In the background you can see some additional filler items; die cut leaves, acrylic glittered dots, pear shaped 1/2 pearls, liquid pearl drops and waxed cord used for twine.

2018-04-27 (6)

I’m still working on using  the dollar store sentiment  sheet of 3-d stickers.  And yes, I bought another sheet in as different theme in brighter colors at my last visit.  You can look forward to seeing what I can do with them soon.

2018-04-27 (5)

 

The only rubber stamping on this card is found on the  rubber stamped hand made banner.

2018-04-27 (4)

And here is the other, newest dollar store find–adhesive backed sheet of gems.  They were in assorted colors.  I picked the gold as it looked better than the other bolder colors they had on hand.

Here I’ve cut off two rows of the gems and used it as a border.

2018-04-27 (1)

And one more look at the card before you go on about your day…

2018-04-27 (3)

 

Stepping up purchased flowers?

Here are some other tries at stacking the Recollections flowers.   This was a hit and a miss   lol!    These will definitely be taken apart and scrunched up to see if that helps.
2018-04-26 (1)

And finally a comparison between the stacked version and the scrunched/glittered version.  No question, the scrunched/glittered version wins, hands down.

2018-04-26 (2)

Thanks for stopping by today!

 

I added this card to these challenges:

Penny’s Paper challenge-anything goes.

and

Anything goes challenge #45 at CardzTV

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Collette permalink
    2018/04/27 12:08 pm

    Very pretty card, Bonnie=)

  2. 2018/04/30 10:09 pm

    Great example how you can take a ho-hum item and with a bit of time, creativity, and added resources mixed together, a crafter can transform that into moxie-fabulous-ness! 🙂 Thanks for sharing at PPCC blog! Becca/DT

Trackbacks

  1. 2018-05-05; April Shoe Box Craft Night – card kit & review | The Craftiblog

Leave a comment