Skip to content

2011-04-28…from trash to treasure

2011/04/28

A few weeks ago I made my first full card using the Cricut and cartridge (Wild Card). You can see that effort HERE. In the background behind the card you can see the envelope that I had made to go with the card. Here is a shot of the envelope all by it’s lonesome. 2011-04-28 002
Unfortunately, I used heavy weight cardstock to make it. It is to heavy and a tight fit for the card that I created it for. I ended up tossing it into my scrap box. I have been glancing at the envelope and thinking that I would re-purpose it. I settled upon the idea of a pocket card.

When Cindy at
asked me to become a design team member at a new community for Cricut lovers at Diecut Designer I knew I had my first project.

I chose a daisy in a flower pot to work with. You can see that original die cut SVG HERE Each element of the design can be separated and cut out in any color and sized in any size you need to fit your project. I have always wanted a daisy with multiple nested layers.

I only used a few elements from the design; the flower-pot and the flower. I can see that I will need to work with this design some more. Lots of possibilities! Here is what I came up with

2011-04-28 006

Now I’ll walk you through a couple of the steps I took to get to the final project. Of course I cut the flower-pot out of craft cardstock and the flower out of pale pink. I cut out multiples of the flower in various sizes so they could be layered. Here you can see I’ve inked the edges, applied versa mark ink and dropped them into clear embossing powder.
2011-04-28 003

Years ago I bought the cute little frying pan to emboss tiny items. I know, it’s so stinkin’ cute, you want one of your own, right? I knew it lol! Any kitchen or department store has frying pans, just look for a bitty one that is cute. I have the flowers sitting on a non-stick cooking mat so the embossing powder stays on that and not in the pan. Although if you wipe the pan out with a tissue while hot, it wipes clean.
2011-04-28  001

And a close up of the finished flowers for you. You can see the clear embossing powder on the petals of the flower. It is really just a stiffening agent. I can fluff up the petals and they will “stay” a little better. The flower-pot is in two pieces. I inked the edges of that and also added score lines on the bottom of the pot for texture using my Scor-Buddy. I added some 3-d mounting tape to give the pot depth.
2011-04-28 009

One of the things that I did on both the inside tag and outside background was to use the negative portion of a cut out as a stencil. This particular piece was cut from the Cricut cartridge Serenade.
2011-04-28 005

Here you can see the back of the card. I took the flap of the envelope and folded “backwards” and permanently affixed it. I added a single flower with an old-fashioned office brad as a flower center. You can also see the tag that I made as the inside portion of the card. For the tag-pull I used a ribbon that has been fan-folded. I made sure to tuck the ends of the ribbon between the two layers of cardstock so it would have a finished look. It also helps that its bulky parts are tucked in and doesn’t hang up the sliding process as it goes in and out of the pocket card.
2011-04-28 011

The flower-pot on the lower edge of the tag has been cut from the cartridge Serenade. I used the flower stencil to create the flowers for the pot. To keep things flat, I added some highlights from a Gelly Roll Stardust glitter pen.
2011-04-28 010

So that you can see the tag and card front together, I’ve taken this one last shot.
2011-04-28 008

I did use scraps of things I had previously cut out. I’ll list, as best I can.
Flower & Flower pot: SVG by Cindy at Creative Pointe (can be purchased HERE, and a total bargain for only $1)
Ric-Rac border: Elegant Cake Cartridge
All Floral filler items: Serenade Cartridge
Base envelope for pocket: Wild Card Cartridge

The DSP (Decorative Scrapbook Papers) are all double-sided and from one package…by Heidi Grace Designs. There are a number of color themed pads and the only actual name or description I can find is by the bar code and says this: 60987 HG SW Crdstck Pad Sparkle 24sh2s

The one rubber stamp is the verse (both inside and outside) and is cleverly called an Innie & Outie stamp by My Sentiments Exactly! (M275-10)

And a final side note…I showed this finished card to my husband. And, Oh, My, Gosh. His mouth hung open. I couldn’t believe his reaction. He actually told me this was one of my most impressive cards, ever. He said everything appealed to him; from the flowers, dimension and color. Everything. Wow. I thanked him for his high praise and then before the mood evaporated I handed him my used Cricut cutting blade and asked if he thought it could be sharpened. His mouth hung open again as he pulled of the protective cover and looked at the microscopic blade. He immediately marched off and sharpened it for me using a magnifying glass ROTFL!~ I’ll let you know if this worked or not; I will practice on a scrap cut to experiment with it.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. lois Skiathitis permalink
    2011/04/28 7:41 am

    Your card is stunning Bonnie, love all of the die-cutting. My favorite is the flowerpot with all the pretty flowers. Nice job beautiful work. Thanks for showing us how you made the flowers. I love your husbands reaction to your project and rightly so. TFS!!! 😀

  2. NancyS (momsnack) permalink
    2011/04/28 1:26 pm

    I agree with your husband! That card is absolutely beautiful!

  3. 2011/04/28 9:26 pm

    Beautiful! Such detail…I love how you took the flower pot design and really made it your own.

    P.S…sharpening that microscopic cricut blade means true love! 😉

  4. 2011/04/29 4:40 am

    You did a awesome job on this card, very professional looking. Thanks for sharing.

  5. 2011/04/29 5:59 am

    I’ve never even considered putting embossing powder into a small pan like that! What a great idea! I love your card, and those flowers are amazing. You’ve really inspired me — thank you!

  6. 2011/04/29 9:55 am

    Such a beautiful card. I love the idea of the small frying pan, Makes me think. I have a small one egg frying pan that has a egg face on the end of the handle. Im might have to move that to the scrapbook room. LOL

    Sharon

  7. 2011/04/29 9:55 am

    Wow, Bonnie. Another show-stopper! Using the left over punch-out as a stencil is beyond brilliant. When I read that, it was one of those moments where I asked myself, “WHY didn’t I think of that?” The entire card really is so cleverly done–just fantastic. Thanks for another original creation, Bonnie Sz. style!

  8. RobinF permalink
    2011/04/29 12:55 pm

    I loved reading this post and how you repurposed this card!!! Thanks for the tips for the frying pan too!!!

    RobinF (SPP)

  9. Carolyn permalink
    2011/04/30 7:37 am

    Your card is so beautiful…love the colors and all the extra touches. Thank you for sharing. Smiles Carolyn

  10. Barbara in South Carolina permalink
    2011/04/30 8:51 am

    OMGosh Bonnie! What a fabulous card! I am just blown away by it all! I am also a little befuddled by that frying pan thing ~ never heard of doing embossing like that! You are just amazing, clever, talented ~ I could keep going but I don’t want to embarass you! Thanks for sharing, dear friend!
    Barbara

  11. Chrissy Bornfleth permalink
    2011/04/30 5:17 pm

    WOW!!!!!!!!! You are going to be a fantastic addition to their design team!!!
    Chrissy

  12. Heidi permalink
    2011/05/02 4:29 pm

    I love your card. You did an amazing job!

  13. Monica permalink
    2011/06/02 6:48 am

    Hello! I LOVE LOVE LOVE your card! With your permission, I am going to try to ‘scraplift’ it or some of the key attractions of it! I am curious, how did the newly sharpened blade work?

Trackbacks

  1. 2018-05-22; fun foam flower in a box | The Craftiblog

Leave a comment