Skip to content

2009-04-25 Long Neck Giraffe

2009/04/25

I started out to make a theme card for a swap I joined but some how I got side tracked. I saw this giraffe sitting on my desk. I bought him a year or two ago and have only ever inked him up once. It turned out to be a dreadful card (IMO) so I tossed him down and didn’t look back.

He has such a cute face though…doesn’t he just look like he is trying to say hello? I wish I would have had some kind of giraffe-ish kind of words, but I didn’t.

Giraffe by Whipper Snapper; hello by Stampin’ Up (in the retired set Fun with Shapes) Sun is also by Stampin’ Up (in the retied set Smile). I brayered the background and added a tree by Stampington and Company. I colored with colored pencils and when that didn’t work very well because of the black embossing I switched over to chalk and oil.
2009-04-25

The original image had a hand drawn mane but as I mentioned earlier I used detail black embossing powder and I couldn’t color over it. Also, I didn’t want to snip around each little line for his mane. So I dug through my ribbon and yarn drawer (not to be done before your morning coffee because it’s a mess and will just send you screaming) and found some brown fuzzy fiber. So I snipped a tiny chunk for his head and glued, then a long piece for the neck mane. Totally makes the card.
2009-04-25  (2)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary-Jane permalink
    2009/04/25 3:48 pm

    Bonnie,
    He is absolutely wonderful – giraffes are one of my favorite – you done him proud!
    hugs
    Mary-Jane

  2. 2009/04/26 8:06 am

    That is the most beautiful card…I have a thing for giraffes and chickens, Weird combo, I know. Yes, the fiber makes this card……bravo!!!!!

  3. 2009/04/26 10:13 am

    What a great card! You’re right – the mane is awesome! And the giraffe is so cute. Very well done.

  4. 2009/04/27 5:37 am

    So pretty! So wellbalanced and lovely colorcombo! I just love the giraffe!!
    It is so fun to visit your blog and see all the wonderful things you are making.

    Hugs Monica

  5. 2009/04/27 10:25 am

    Bonnie… He is just adorable! I have been fascinated with zoo animals lately and just loved him when I seen your card.

  6. 2009/04/28 3:36 pm

    He is so very cute! I need to follow your blog for sure!

  7. 2009/05/07 6:03 am

    I LOVE this, Bonnie!

Leave a comment