Skip to content

2024-05-10; Shiplap board background

2024/05/10

If you are “in the know” about Stampin’ Up (SU), you would know that a new annual catalog came out May 1st. I haven’t bought anything new from SU for a few years. I have been blessed to have been gifted supplies from my girlfriends stamp room. She cleared out everything due to failing health.

OK, back to the catalog. Today’s card was inspired by one of my stamping friends who while perusing the new catalog saw a sketch she liked. She sent me a photo of the inspiration and then I went ahead and made this card to send back to her.

There is actually a lot of stamping & embossing on this card. Take a look at the background. This was made using the large SU background stamp; hardwood. I started by inking card stock direct to paper in assorted brown colors. Next I stamped the hardwood and finally I embossed it with a wood grain embossing folder.

I went back to my work table and cut the “planks” apart and glued them shiplap style to a piece of paper. I then added watercolor to all of the seams where the boards meet. Note to self; next time add some light colored boards!

The rest of the card was made with left-overs from previous projects that were still on my desk. It gives me a sense of accomplishment to use up the last of the bits and bobs laying around. 🙂

Thanks for stopping by.

No comments yet

Leave a comment