Skip to content

2020-12-22; Christmas side fold

2020/12/22

A couple of weeks ago I watched the SplitCoastStampers side fold tutorial (Link will be below for your convenience). I was lacking for a card design so I thought I would see what I could do to recreate the card with supplies I have on hand. I think it turned out pretty close.

Here is a close look at the sentiment by Waltzing Mouse. I picked up the acrylic set at a rummage sale a couple of years ago. I stamped a bunch of the sentiments and then had the Scan-n-Cut cut them all out along with a mat. That would explain why there have been a number of cards lately that have this same sentiment 😉

Take a look at the pine cones. I didn’t have any dies that looked like ones in the sample. I do have a bunch of Cricut cartridges so I looked through those and only found 2 to choose from. This particular one came from the cartridge Give a Hoot and is cut at 1.25″ & 1.75″. The pine branches are dies by Impression Obsession and Memory Box. There is also a stitched circle die in the background; this is a no-brand die.

And one more look at the card before you go on about your day….

Tutorial courtesy of SplitCoastStampers

What do you think of the recreation? Did I come pretty close in your opinion?

I entered this card into the challenge at Bitten by the Bug 2; “A Die-lirious Holiday Season  I used Cricut cuts, die cuts and the scan-n-cut to cut elements for this design. And they are partnered for this challenge over at Double Trouble. I also added both of the twists…a twine bow and patterned papers.

Thanks for stopping by.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 2020/12/23 8:29 am

    I think that is called a binder fold . I really like your card!

  2. Lisabeth R Whiting permalink
    2020/12/28 5:24 am

    I love what you did with the pinecones

  3. 2020/12/29 12:16 pm

    Love the greens and pinecone cuts against the plaid background… and love the side fold card. I watched a tutorial on it and the fold is so simple and creates a pretty card layout. I just made two of the same fold for our next challenge at Double Trouble. Thanks for sharing with us and Bitten by the Bug.

  4. Donna Scholz permalink
    2020/12/30 3:16 pm

    Bonnie, your card turned out beautifully! I use my ScanNCut to cut out stamped images, too! Love it! I saw that same tutorial and bookmarked it. Now that I’ve seen your beautiful card, I’m definitely going to try it!!! Thank you for sharing your creative talents with us at Double Trouble!!! -Donna

  5. Alicia O'Bryant permalink
    2021/01/11 9:06 pm

    thank you for sharing your great project with us at Bitten By the Bug 2. I am really impressed with all the details. Happy New Year!

    Alicia

Leave a comment