Skip to content

2010-06-09 Easel Card & Desktop Calendar & links to other samples

2010/06/09

For the next swap card I’m working on the theme is an easel card.

I’ve made these before and really enjoyed them. If you’d like to see my first try…LOOK HERE. And a remake of pretty much the same card but using flower soft HERE. And the over-the-top Christmas Card I mailed out to family and friends for Christmas 2009 card. The photo tutorial on a basic easel card is just below the family Christmas card if you need it. So yep, I’ve made my share of easel cards.

Here are the general supplies I used to create the card I finished up making today. It took me two mornings to complete this one. I get up early before work, have my coffee and spend about 1/2 hour at my desk before heading off to work for the day.

2010-06-09 001

I think I went pretty over-board with the embellishments, but I had this stuff laying around and I just kept piling it on until I didn’t think more would fit.

2010-06-09 003

I took an angle shot so you can see the easel part of the card. It also shows that I built up the punched layers. I made sure to use full sheets of fun foam under each layer, so it has a solid feel and won’t waffle up when it’s mailed to my partner.

Don’t you hate it when you get a card in the mail, that you know someone worked on just for you and it comes all bent up just from using to few pop dots? Waffle City! The card maybe wonderful, but mostly I can’t get past the pitiful waffling. It’s probably just one of my many quirks! I for sure am going to have to load up with bubble wrap and hope that the crystal effects I used to hold all the pearl seed beads will hold together through mailing.

2010-06-09 002

and a couple of close ups. This one shows the two stamps I used. The bookplate is by River City Rubber and the Verse by Stampendous.

2010-06-09 001

Did I go over-the-top with too much “STUFF” on this one, or not? Hopefully not. Speaking of STUFF, I nearly forgot to tell you what I used the nail polish on…the home made dew drops.

2010-06-09 002

Tutorial HERE if you want it, on homemade dew drops. I also thought the punched leaves looked to “one color” So I swished the nail polish along random leaves just to give a change of color. It doesn’t really add shine like it did on the dew drops. And shine? The whole background is glittered DSP from the First Blush Collection by Studio D

***********************

6-29-10: Edited to add: I talked to my girlfriend who gave the mini calendar to me. She tells me that she orders them from a place on line called Sky Blue Pink. Here is the direct link to the page that shows the calendar for 2011: mini calendars!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. lois Skiathitis permalink
    2010/06/09 4:57 am

    I don’t think it’s too much. I think it’s beautiful, Bonnie. There is so much to see the colors are beautiful and the card has a flow to it , if that makes sense. LOL!!! Clever use of the nail polish. I love easel cards I’ve never made one, and i think I will, thanks for the inspiration. TFS!!! 😀

  2. 2010/06/09 11:20 am

    Super card Bonnie.. Can you tell us where you bought the small calendars? I would like to make something similar, but more simple, with my carding friends in maybe October?? If possible, I would love a link to a site if you have one??
    Thanks a million!

    • 2010/06/09 11:56 am

      Penny,
      the mini caledars were a gift, but I know that my girlfriend buys them on line. When I get the exact place, I’ll post a note about it!

  3. 2010/06/09 11:44 am

    Bonnie your easel card is just beautiful. I need you here to teach me how to make one.

    • 2010/06/09 11:55 am

      I will gladly show you how to make an easel card…just look in the post and click on the link to my 2009 Family christmas card. Just below the Christmas card pictures is a photo tutorial on how to put one together!

  4. 2010/06/09 1:03 pm

    Thanks Bonnie, I’ve subscribed to this post so should see your note.. I’ll look for it.

  5. Mickie permalink
    2010/06/09 2:43 pm

    NO way is that too much. I love it. LOL, I’ll have to try the nail polish, what a great idea.

  6. Colorado permalink
    2010/06/09 3:43 pm

    Love this card!! Thanks for the cool idea making a calendar card! I love making easel cards and it’s perfect for the calendar!!!!! I’ve also just got to learn to think outside the box… neat idea to use nail polish on the dew drops. I also make my own and have used metallic paint to color them and I know you can use alcohol inks, etc. but I never thought of nail polish… great idea!

  7. 2010/06/09 3:45 pm

    Wonderful, Bonnie! You have a very lucky partner who will be receiving this one!

  8. Colorado permalink
    2010/06/09 5:38 pm

    Hi Bonnie… I just had to tell you that today I got a bottle of the Tulip Glitter Fabric Paint in the Crystal Sparkles!! Can’t wait to try it out! Thanks for sharing that tip, also!

  9. 2010/06/11 5:11 pm

    Bonnie this is AWESOME! I just wanted to say I don’t believe you can ever OVER embellish! LOL Thanks for sharing!!

  10. may permalink
    2010/09/26 4:55 pm

    Just love this card !so bright so wonderful
    Thanks for sharing this !!

Trackbacks

  1. 2010-06-15 Getting ready for next weeks Shoebox gathering « The Craftiblog

Leave a comment