Skip to content

2013-05-22 Field Flowers & tiny tag

2013/05/22

Did you ever start out with an idea, have the pieces in front of you and then everything went “poof” when you went to put it together? That’s what happened to me with this design. I started out with a 2 sided piece of DSP. One side is powder blue and the other with assorted strips and powder blue. I had intended to pick a piece of DSP that I didn’t think I would ever use, and try to make it into something. As it turns out, you can hardly see the striped side of the DSP, and not much more of the powder blue side. Oh well.

The design is made using 2 different stamps, both by Stampin Up.
2013-05-22 (5)

The tiny tag is from the set Circle Array. It is stamped in Chocolate ink, sponged with Vintage Photo distress ink and popped up with 3-d mounting tape. The fiber bow is actually gold sewing thread left over from a Christmas project. In the layers below the tag you can see a white ribbon punch by Martha Stewart. Then on the lowest mat some gold stickers were added and formed into a border of sorts.
2013-05-22 (3)

The flowers and stem are from the set Field Flowers. I have lusted after this stamp set for the last few years and finally acquired it last month. The stem was inked in Mellow Moss then pounced with forest green and olive water color markers. The blooms were stamped in caramel then over-stamped in raisin. Both blooms were popped up with 3-d mounting tape and as a final touch some liquid pearls were added. On the white background you maybe able to see some gold glimmer; this was added by spraying the piece with gold pearlex.
2013-05-22 (2)

The butterfly is a punch by Martha Stewart mounted as a centerpiece to the triple layer bow. I also tucked in some homemade stick pins. In the photo you can see that I used some crystal effects to hold my crystal in place, it is still a little damp. But no worries, as it dries clear.
2013-05-22 (4)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 2013/05/22 8:54 am

    Maybe things didn’t turn out the way you wanted, but it DID turn out to be a beautiful card!

  2. Maggi G permalink
    2013/05/22 10:55 am

    Great card i I was getting worried that you hadn’t been “crafting” for a few days. Love all the little details. And the tiny tags from SU are the best. I think SU is coming out with a couple more stamp sets for those punches. Can’t wait!!!

  3. Linda C permalink
    2013/05/22 4:55 pm

    Where…Oh!…Where…do you get your ideas?? One card is more elegant and beautiful than the other. And to think you’re still working!

  4. pam permalink
    2013/05/22 9:58 pm

    I really like the little pop of gold you used….and the stick pins. Lovely card!

  5. 2013/05/23 4:00 am

    I love how the liquid pearls turned out, great job Bonnie

  6. 2013/05/24 2:44 am

    I also love that Field Flowers stamp set! I need to use it more . . . the liquid pearls really add a lot of dimension to the blooms. Very pretty card!

  7. Joan Norman permalink
    2013/06/05 9:52 pm

    Stunningly beautiful card with one of my fav sets also. stampnjoan

Leave a comment