Skip to content

2012-12-31 Welcome Baby New Year!

2012/12/31

My friend Maggi told me that she would like to make a card she saw on Pintrest. The original designer, Janet O’Brien did not give instructions; merely a supply list. I thought the baby carriage was totally cute and with no pending projects due decided to give it a try.

I have some hints that will help your project turn out better than mine…

2012-12-30 (4)

I took the largest circle I had of the Spellbinder Nestabilities and cut 3 circles. The first one I cut on the fold (connected circles on the right). I’ve folded it open so you can see I left them connected. Next I cut a 2nd circle out of the same card stock. Cut one more out of scrap; this will become your template for cutting later on.

2012-12-30 (1)

Glue the 2nd circle onto the front of the connected circles. This covers up the fold line.

2012-12-30 (3)

Fold the scrap circle into quarters and trim out 1/4th of it following the fold line as your guide. This is now your template. Lay it onto the circle card and lightly trace. You can decide right here which way you want your carriage facing. Then trim out one quarter of the circle. You will be cutting through 3 layers. A double layer on the front and one layer of the back of the card.

2012-12-30 (2)

HINTS:
The last step is decorating as desired. I cut 4 additional circles (Carriage tires) and glued 2 to the front and 2 to the back. That way when the card is open, it will still stand on its own for display.

The fan fold needs to be larger than the one I used. The largest circle that I had was 3-3/4ths” Use the piece you removed as your guide as to how wide/big the fan fold addition should be. Then glue it in place. You won’t be messing up the project with glue all over due to removing the incorrect size of fan-fold, ugh. The one I used in the photo is still not quite wide enough but after having already removing the first attempt, I just went with it.

I also added buttons, gel pen doodling, border punch by Fiskars, ribbon and a brad. Make sure you use a glue that will hold the buttons down.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    2013/01/01 12:54 am

    How Darling! A very clever idea. Thanks for Sharing, Bonnie
    Cindy

  2. Maggi G permalink
    2013/01/01 11:08 am

    Thanks for giving this a try – I am eager to make it for my new grand-neice!!!!!

  3. 2013/01/01 6:20 pm

    Love this card! Such a clever idea ,Thanks for sharing this with everyone !!!

  4. Jennyfer Leung permalink
    2013/01/02 9:07 am

    Thanks a lot for the detailed tutorial Bonnie. Very cute!

  5. 2013/01/02 9:26 pm

    Love the way you used the brad to hold the ribbon.

  6. 2013/01/03 7:41 am

    This little card is too cute. Thanks for the instructions as well.

  7. Rhonda Garcia permalink
    2013/01/03 10:02 am

    So precious!!! Love it!

  8. chrissy bornfleth permalink
    2013/01/05 3:16 pm

    I’m going to have to do this…. we have a great grandson due in about a week.
    chrissy

  9. Lin M. permalink
    2013/01/10 7:54 pm

    I just surfed across this site – what an adorable card! I just tried a variation of it – looks like I’m going to need some practice – lol. Great Job!!! And Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a comment