Skip to content

2012-02-24 Sketch challenge for the Diva’s

2012/02/24

A stamping friend of mine invited me to join in a 1-4-1 swap group. I just signed up and am on my way to swapping out my first card.

For the first project we were given a sketch (shown in the photo). I used to love sketch challenges so this was and interesting start. I knew I wanted to use the punched bird and butterfly’s when I started, but didn’t really have any other ideas. Other products that I forgot to add were a few assorted embossing folders, gold leaf pen, ribbon, gelly roll glitter pen and mini 1/2 pearls. The pad of paper that I pulled the DSP from is an economy pack I bought at a rummage sale made by Me & My Big Ideas.
2012-02-24 001

And here is the finished sketch challenge card. I flipped the sketch so that the butterfly’s were on the bottom. I embossed, stamped and punched my way through the whole card. The images of the bird and verse are by Stampin’ Up. I also used the bird punch that includes the leafy branch by Stampin’ Up.
2012-02-24 003

I personally think that a plain bow looks naked. To cover it’s nakedness I added a tiny punched butterfly punch (Martha Stewart) right in the center. I punched it out of matching DSP and then colored the polka dots with the glitter pen.
2012-02-24 004

The butterfly circles are actually 2 circles in various sizes and then a butterfly mounted in the center of each. I loosely scribbled the glitter pen over the wings and then added 2 mini 1/2 pearls to each.
2012-02-24 006

Here you can see that I stamped the bird in black ink onto patterned DSP. I fussy glued 3 bird punches together to make a study base then glued the pattered stamped piece to the top of the stack of punches. I wish I had done that for the bird wing as well. I again scribbled the glitter pen to highlight, added some red colored pencil to the beak and down the tummy and lastly highlighted the beak and what would you call it, it’s warble? with crystal effects.
2012-02-24 005

My swap card is now drying and will be ready to go when my swap partner is assigned.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 2012/02/24 3:53 am

    This is a beautiful card….I love it x

  2. lois Skiathitis permalink
    2012/02/24 6:12 am

    Your card is beautiful Bonnie. Love your take on the sketch card. I also see a lot of texture on this card which is very nice. The main focal is the bird which is colored so nicely and of course the butterflies are so nicely added. The finishing touch is that beautiful bow to tie up the whole package and to fill in some nakedness. LOL!!! I certainly adore all of the glitter and shine that has been addd. Very nice work. TFS!!! 😀

  3. 2012/02/24 8:09 am

    Nicely done on the sketch I like the interpretation of it. The card is gorgeous!

  4. RobinF permalink
    2012/02/24 12:59 pm

    Wow Bonnie!!! This card is stunning!!! So many wonderful details to look at. I love the gold on the edges!!!

    Robin (SPP)

  5. Nana Jo permalink
    2012/02/24 1:55 pm

    Fantastic card – hope you don’t mind, I pinned it on Pinterest.

  6. 2012/02/24 2:41 pm

    whoa! Bonnie this is one remarkable beautiful card! Love the softness of elements, textures and colors, and especially your interpretation of the sketch! Thanks so much for sharing your masterpiece.

  7. 2012/02/24 2:51 pm

    Bonnie that is a really special card. I just love it! I don’t use that bird punch often enough.

  8. 2012/02/25 7:14 am

    Very nice!!!

  9. Maggi G permalink
    2012/02/25 7:17 am

    Gorgeous!!!! I do like sketch challenges – I am prone to using the same/similar layouts time after time!!!

  10. Sarah permalink
    2012/02/25 9:13 am

    This is truely lovely!

  11. 2012/02/26 5:54 pm

    WOW! This is stunning!
    Lynn

Leave a comment