Skip to content

2011-06-28 New designs by Creative Pointe

2011/06/28

Cindy at Creative Pointe sent me a couple of new designs to play with. I love borders and she came up with a really nice set of them to play with. I can size them to fit any size card. In this case I made a 5 1/4″ x 5 1/4″ square and cut the border at 5″.

2011-06-28 001

Here you can see a close up of the border. I glued it to a piece of ribbon and then layered that over chocolate. I added some glitter glue and clear micro beads.
2011-06-28 002

I’ve been told to start making more birthday cards rather than inspirational cards so I grabbed one of the very first stamps I ever got/bought. This is by Stampin Up, colored with pencils and then blended a bit. I also used a stardust glitter pen to add highlights. You can see I built a medallion piece (Nestabilities Circle, Scallop Circle and 2 kinds of labels) for the birthday piece to be mounted to. I also added a mini leaf to tie the design together.
2011-06-28 005

I used green ribbon to make a circle bow then added green leaves and a hand crocheted rolled rose. Doing this project already gave me an idea for another!~
2011-06-28 003

If you are interested in getting the border and leaves to cut in your Cricut, you can snag them at these links. Fancy Flourishes-2 and Flower Flourishes. Have fun and if you make something with these, link back to me! I’d love to see what you create.

********************

Edited to add: I was asked for the pattern I used to make the rolled rose. I googled “crocheted rolled rose” There are so many patterns. I printed one out and put it into my crochet bag. I didn’t print out who or where I got the pattern from. I apologize for not having that information.

Here are the instructions:
Leaving a 10″ length for sewing, chain 57.
Row 1: Dc in sixth ch from hook , *ch 2, skip next 2 chs, (dc, ch 2, dc) in next ch; repeat from * across: 36 sps.
Row 2: Ch 3, turn; 5 dc in next ch-2 sp, sc in next ch-2 sp (Helpful hint: This is the very next space. The chain 2 it refers to are the 2 chains you can see on the base, not on the top of row 1), (6 dc in next ch-2 sp, sc in next ch-2 sp) 5 times, (9 dc in next ch-2 sp, sc in next ch-2 sp) 5 times, (12 dc in next ch-2 sp, sc in next sp) 7 times;
Finish off leaving a 10″ length for sewing.

Roll beginning with the first cluster of 6 dc. As you roll, take a securing stitch on the bottom to keep the rose in place and place a stitch about every half inch to inch as you roll. Once you reach the end, tie off burying knot.

2011-06-29 008

The instructions didn’t give what material or size hook was used. I tried it with yarn and a normal sized crochet hook and ended up with a rose that was about 3 1/4″ in diameter. Perfect to wear as a pin or put on a headband. Next I tried crochet thread in a size 3 and the smallest crochet hook I could find. That brought the diameter down to about 2 1/2″. The final one and one that is on my sample is a size 10 crochet thread with the smallest crochet hook and ended up to be about 1 1/2″.

You can make a tight rolled rose by keeping the base even as you roll and stitch. If you want a more “open” rose as in my sample; as you roll, lift and shift the piece you are rolling up & outward. You will know if you are doing as described because you will end up with a pointy bit sticking out from the very center like a little handle.

Hope these instructions help you to make your own crocheted rolled rose. If you make one from this or even another pattern, please link back to me. I’d love to see what you make and maybe even try your pattern!

Try this site for lots-n-lots of patterns: Crochet Pattern Central

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Maggi G permalink
    2011/06/28 8:35 pm

    Beautiful as usual!!!!!

  2. 2011/06/28 8:59 pm

    This is soooo pretty!

  3. 2011/06/28 9:27 pm

    I agree with Maggi, beautiful as usual. It’s good to see you post something, I haven’t seen anything by you for a while. Missing it!

  4. lois Skiathitis permalink
    2011/06/29 7:08 am

    Beautiful card Bonnie, so much texture and sort of an old world feel to it Bonnie. Love the colors chosen and the border is just so lovely. The rolled crochet flower is a nice added addition. TFS!!! 😀 So nice to see you posting your work again. That always makes me smile.

  5. 2011/06/29 10:07 am

    Pretty card, and beautiful roses!

  6. 2011/06/29 9:41 pm

    Very beautiful card, Bonnie. I love the rich colors. Thank you so much for sharing with us.

Leave a comment