Skip to content

2011-02-17 Aged background and that darned canary yellow cardstock

2011/02/17

After getting home from work last evening I sat down to enjoy an episode of Stamp TV. Gina K. shares so many techniques and I really enjoy giving them a try. Most of them are not complicated and I generally already have the products she uses.

In the video she adds distress inks to yellow card stock. I have a hate-hate relationship with yellow card stock. I for the life of me, don’t know why I thought I should have and entire ream of canary yellow card stock. It’s so stinkin’ bright it practically hurts my eyes. So my first thought after watching it was…now I can get rid of more of this yellow junk lol!

Remember when I did some volunteer work at our church and tried to use up some of the yellow? Click HERE to see the card and supplies I donated.

Here is my card using the Victorian distressed background.
2011-02-17 007

I thought I would share the technique video right here instead of sending you off somewhere else to enjoy it.

These are the products that I used. Some of them are the same brand, but I did add Perfect Pearls to give a nice glimmer (of course you can’t see any of that in the photos) and I used an old-fashioned “blow pen” to give a splattered look.
2011-02-17 003

I took a close up so you could see some of the layering going on. You may, just may be able to see a slight glimmer. No promises though.

2011-02-17 004

I used my Bow-Easy to tie this double bow. I decided to have it at a jaunty angel rather then just put it on at a vertical or horizontal angle. I like it.

I also found some Tim Holtz crackle medium. I decided to just scribble it over the surface to try it out. In the photo it’s still sticky wet. I can never wait long enough for things to dry. If I remember, I’ll try to take another photo when this goop is dry to show you how it really turned out.
2011-02-17 006

The goo is now dry and has crackled nicely….
2011-02-17 010

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Diana Lee permalink
    2011/02/17 9:33 am

    i need to chat/write/talk to you privately about your post …. it’s beautiful! xxx/xxx-xxxx not sure if you see this before it is posted – so maybe you can erase this before my phone number gets published on the web. If it does get posted – my error – its on me. i’ve got caller ID so i know whose calls i should ignore!

    thanks!

    • 2011/02/17 10:58 am

      You can email me at bonnie32002@gmail and let me know what your questions are.

  2. Colorado permalink
    2011/02/17 1:31 pm

    Lovely card, Bonnie. I had not gotten around to watching that video yet… now I know I don’t want that one to slip by. TFS!!!

  3. Kathy Berger permalink
    2011/02/17 9:44 pm

    I, like you, have a hate/hate relationship with yellow, and for some reason have too much of it around. I really like what you’ve done to make it less objectionable, to the point of actually pretty! I wouldn’t be able to do a yellow bottom layer or ribbon, though… I really have a hate/hate thing about yellow! LOL.

    Great job!

  4. Yvonne Richardson permalink
    2011/02/17 11:42 pm

    I think you did a good job. I saw it on Gina K. and thought it was really neat. I think I am going to try it this week end. Wish me luck

  5. 2011/02/18 10:28 am

    I, on the other hand, have a love-love relationship with yellow, it’s just so darned in-your-face cheerful. Your transformed cardstock is absolutely gorgeous! LOVE it.

  6. Missy K. permalink
    2011/02/18 12:49 pm

    Lovely background and lovely card.

  7. lois Skiathitis permalink
    2011/02/18 1:40 pm

    Beautifully done Bonnie, I saw Gina K doing that episode the other day. I hope you had fun doing that technique. I like the color combinations that you have used. Very nice work. TFS!!! 😀

  8. 2011/02/19 6:24 pm

    Neat… I really like the crackle… hugs, antonella 🙂

Leave a comment