Skip to content

2010-11-20 Explosion Mini Gift Birthday Box

2010/11/20

I needed a really quick birthday card for one of my co-workers. I had a plain white mini prototype of the box that I made the other day just to see if I could make one and have it turn out. (See my original box HERE) The finished box measures 3 1/2 x 3 1/2″. So, I grabbed the prototype and added some scrapbook paper and lacy ribbon and came up with this.

2010-11-19 001

The ribbon is from a huge bolt that was given to me. I does not lend itself well to bow making as it is one sided. So I carefully cut strips and made a bow where only one side would show. To cover all of the joined strips I added a center wrap. My scor-tape sure came in handy while making this bow, not to mention that the tape is the only thing holding it to the top of the box. The tiny tag is made from a die cut by Cuttlebug and the words are by Gina K.
2010-11-19 002

Here you can see the cover taken off the box to reveal the contents that spill out in front of the recipient. Who wouldn’t want a little chocolate fix? There is some rubber stamping with a sentiment under the goodies, but when you have colorful foil wrapped chocolates, who cares?
2010-11-19 003

4 Comments leave one →
  1. lois Skiathitis permalink
    2010/11/20 7:12 am

    Your gift box is gorgeous Bonnie, I love the lacy ribbon. What a wonderful idea for any occasion. I wish I could just reach in a grab a piece of my favorite candy. Such attention to detail, I never have ribbon that matches so well. TFS!!! 😀

  2. 2010/11/20 7:39 am

    Very, very pretty, Bonnie! Beautiful lace ribbon! Yummy candy, too:)

  3. Maggi G permalink
    2010/11/20 9:04 am

    Love how you used the ribbon – good idea as it’s heavy. Off to check to see if I can find it in my stash!!!!!

  4. 2010/11/21 10:54 am

    You inspired me! I had to make a gift card holder and your explosion box was just the thing! I linked back to you as my inspiration, here is my post: http://quilling.blogspot.com/2010/11/happy-birthday-explosion-box.html
    Hugs, Antonella 🙂

Leave a comment