Skip to content

2010-08-31 Sizzix “leaves” embossing folder

2010/08/31

This past weekend I visited a LSS (local stamp store) and decided I HAD to buy SOMETHING. My reasoning was this: I had a punch card that was just shy of a $15 purchase; the expiration date for getting the card punched with my purchases was 8-31-10. My reward? A $5 in store credit. Hmmmm. I have become more choosy about what I buy. I tend to veer away from stamps be they polymer or rubber as I’ve collected so many that haven’t even met ink. I instead am enamored by all of the “tools” that make my stamps (whether they be old or new); look like the styles that are prevalent now. What did I buy? A set of two Sizzix embossing folders and a Inkssentials blending tool.

Here is the first embossing that I did on an olive colored piece of card stock. Please ignore that it doesn’t look olive. When I went in for a close up so you could see the deep impression, I lost the color.2010-08-31 001 I actually took this piece to work with me yesterday and glanced at it during the day wondering what would make this “pop.” I decided to rub it with acrylic paint. I had intended to use a walnut color but lazy me didn’t want to dig too far. I did find a bottle of inexpensive acrylic burgundy. I dampened a paper towel and then dipped it into a puddle of paint and then just brushed across the surface of the embossing. The paint went in more places than I anticipated because it was the first swipe with a loaded paper towel. No matter, there are no mistakes when you are playing, right? I pulled out some gold & puter rub-n-buff and dappled at the raised images randomly. At least when I took the photo this time, you can see the base color, olive green. 2010-08-31 002

I used a Martha Stewart Punch Around the Page set. The medallion is punched out of butter cream. The original size that I started punching was a 2 3/4″ square. I had to fudge some of the punching to make the boarder punch work to get this size. I added the pearls, a gold sticker, crystal gem and the stamp.
2010-08-31 003

I’m so glad I went with the sticker instead of a stamped leaf. The verse brings your attention to the leaves that are the background.
2010-08-31 005

To make the bow I took two colors of ribbon and held the folded pieces in my hand. I grabbed an old fashioned office brad with long prongs and brought them around the ribbon. I centered the brad, then put it through the boarder piece, grabbing the piece of ribbon I had layered there. Grabbing the ribbon on the boarder and scrunching it makes it look more like a tied ribbon. Once that was accomplished I added a clear drying glue over the surface of the brad; while wet, I sprinkled with more of the seed pearls. The hardest part of the whole card, was not moving it while the glue dried.
2010-08-31 006

Today was just for fun, no specific design, just playing. I do have one more piece of homework to work on, the red bulletin board boarder. Still contemplating….

****************

Edited to add:
I’ve had a few emails asking about the supplies I used in making the above card; so here you go….

The Martha Stewart punch around the page set is called Layered Arches. Hope that helps you find it at you’re local craft store.

Rub n buff is a waX based product that can be rubbed on to your project to add a metallic glimmer. It comes in a colors so you can choose your look. Here is a link to Joann’s that shows what the package looks like in the store: Rub n Buff

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth B. permalink
    2010/08/31 6:24 am

    Bonnie, your card is gorgeous! Wow, the background is stunning! Lovely!

  2. MaryAnne permalink
    2010/08/31 6:28 am

    Beautiful…what a wonderful idea!! I have C’Bug folder with pumpkins and vines that I think will be perfect for the upcoming Fall season, and what about snowflakes????…thanks for the idea!!

    MaryAnne

  3. debR permalink
    2010/08/31 6:38 am

    WOW..this is absolutely GORGEOUS!!! I have to give this a try!
    hugz
    deb

  4. Shelly Schmidt permalink
    2010/08/31 7:17 am

    Wow- this turned out gorgeous!!! I love the embossing folder and how you dressed it up!

  5. Martha Rose permalink
    2010/08/31 8:16 am

    Not only a lovely card, but your photos and tutorial inspires all of us to try this for ourselves. You’ve inspired me to learn to use my punch set like yours. Thanks so much, Bonnie!

  6. Karen W permalink
    2010/08/31 8:19 am

    This is just gorgeous, I love it!! I may have to try this.

  7. 2010/08/31 8:25 am

    Stunning! I have been thinking about that embossing folder. It may be added to my list when I go again.

  8. Phyllis permalink
    2010/08/31 9:54 am

    Wow, what a beautiful card. Am relatively new to this, but love the Cutl’b. Have not done anything with paints, but this is an inspiration!!!!

  9. 2010/08/31 10:16 am

    Gorgeous card Bonnie! The burgunday paint with the rub-n-buff stuff really makes for a warm and cozy background. LOVE your seed pearl bow accent.

  10. Colorado permalink
    2010/09/01 3:40 pm

    Bonnie… this card is beautiful!!! Thanks for sharing your techniques. Your work is wonderful.

  11. lois Skiathitis permalink
    2010/09/01 6:01 pm

    Bonnie, this is stunning, right down to the double bow. The paint and the rub and buff most certainly compliment each other. It just goes to show how much fun you have at just playing. You are such an inspiration Bonnie. TFS!!! 😀

  12. Donna permalink
    2010/09/03 7:38 am

    Totally Awesome !!!!

  13. Chrissy Bornfleth permalink
    2010/09/04 9:33 am

    I really like the way the background turned out… it is very ‘fall’!
    Chrissy Bornfleth

  14. 2010/09/08 12:08 pm

    Thanks so much for using AMACO’s Rub ‘n Buff on your card. The effect is amazing! Glad to know you like this product.

    If you are interested in making some samples/mock ups for Winter CHA using Rub ‘n Buff please let me know. I’m currently looking for additional artists to help with highlighting how Rub ‘n Buff can be used in paper crafts.

Leave a comment