Skip to content

2010-06-16 Collared Bow

2010/06/16

I will never tie a bow as pretty as Becka. (Becka’s Collared Bow) It’s just a fact, I know it and it’s ok. But here is a sample to show that I tried.

I used a butt load of stuff…
Tim Holt’s “cracked” embossing folder
Sizzix tag die cut
Spellbinders fancy tag
Solidago Sprig-Rubber Stampede; Hello from the Heart; Grid Pattern & Italian Scrip all by Hero Arts

2010-06-16 002

collar bow
2010-06-16 003

tag
2010-06-16 004

close up of resist
You can hardly see the fact that I used two different stamps behind the sprig. It is slightly more visible in real life, but not by much. I should have used a darker ink color for the script. And the fact that I used all Tim Holtz distress inks was a big factor as to way the words all but blended away…the ink was still damp when I started sponging on additional color over the sprig. No matter. I’m sure someone will like the card even though I think it could use a 2nd try.
2010-06-16 005

10 Comments leave one →
  1. lois Skiathitis permalink
    2010/06/16 5:19 am

    Your card is gorgeous Bonnie, I visit Becca’s blog too and your bow is gorgeous. I haven’t tried it yet but your card has inspired me to do so. I love the punches you used to frame your centre focal. The Tim Holtz embossing folder is the perfect choice for the background. I also love the way the sentiment is just dangling on the bottom of the card. I wouldn’t change a thing. Beautiful work Bonnie. TFS!!! 😀

  2. Maggi permalink
    2010/06/16 6:04 am

    Love the look – I see you broke down and got the fancy tags!! And the bow is great. Now I have to search my ribbon stash to see what I have that will work.

  3. 2010/06/16 6:49 am

    It’s a beautiful card — wish we had stores around here that sold half the stuff you used. Great job!

  4. Barbara in SC permalink
    2010/06/16 7:30 am

    Good morning Bonnie,

    Your card is fabulous! Doesn’t need to be tweaked at all. I think your collared bow is as gorgeous as Becca’s! How nice that you were able to just “play” last night. Hope your day is good and that your temps aren’t going to go as high as ours have been for the last week!
    Love,
    Barbara

  5. 2010/06/16 9:57 am

    Lovely card. It’s funny, isn’t it, we see all the problems if we make the card, but if we are looking at someone elses card we are a whole lot less critical. too bad there isn’t a way to always make someone elses cards 🙂

  6. 2010/06/16 11:02 am

    WOW!!!! Your card is beautiful! I especially LOVE the embossed flower.

    Hugs,
    Debra Pate
    http://debrapate.myctmh.com
    A New Sale On My website EVERYDAY in June.
    http://debrapate.blogspot.com

  7. 2010/06/16 11:28 am

    I think your collared bow looks fabulous Bonnie! I love how you add all sorts of special touches to create your gor-gee-us cards. I like seeing the hint of script and I wouldn’t change a thing.

  8. 2010/06/16 12:26 pm

    Everything about this card is beautiful! You did such a great job matching everything up. Thank you for sharing. I am going to look at those spellbinder labels.. as I have none! Thanks! 🙂 Febe

  9. Colorado permalink
    2010/06/16 10:32 pm

    I read Becca’s blog, also. I have not tried her collared bow, but I think yours looks just lovely! And your card is beautiful. I just got the fancy tags and have not used them yet. I’ve wanted them for a long time so need to try them out, but they don’t seem to fit into the Fourth of July cards I need to make right away so I’ll have to try them out later on.

  10. 2010/06/30 8:36 pm

    This is a beautiful card! I love all of the layering and dimension (I’m a dimension and bow freak…lol)

Leave a comment