Skip to content

2010-03-20 a 3 1/2 hour sketch challenge?

2010/03/20

3 1/2 hours. Yup. It took me three and one half hours to make this one card. Considering I only used 2 stamps on this entire card (the flower by Stampin Up from the set Delight in Life) and the leaf. (This was a combo punch and stamp from Martha Stewart). I find it amazing that it took me that long and just used 2 stamps total.

2010-03-20 001

The sketch is from SCS #272 Since my hubby is working today I came to my craft desk to play. I hemmed and hawed, used only scraps that I could find because I didn’t want to cut into a fresh sheet of anything when I have so many pieces just laying in heaps.

I pieced together a frame around the DSP because I did not have enough brown card stock to just put a piece under it. THAT took a long time because silly me, couldn’t remember how to miter corners. Finally got that one figured out though.

Here I’m showing the the two layer’s of flower (stamp by Stampin’ Up; the set is called Delight in Life) and lots of flower soft to be the flower center.

And how did I get the flower center so nice and domed? I used one of my homemade dew drops. I glued that on first, then wet the top and sides of the drop with crystal effects and sprinkled soft green flower soft over the whole thing.

2010-03-20 003

With this photo I am showing you that the left side of the card is all lattice punched with a Martha Stewart jumbo boarder punch. I only punched the card front. I got this idea from a new stamping pal at work, Cindy. She showed me some of her work and it was this exact same punch used this way. Her samples were just a touch different, as she had punched the entire left edge; folding it into the card base after punching. This gave her punching on the outside front and inside where you would write. I told her I would use the wonderful idea, and now I have. I can see this on lots of other cards for a classy look, can’t you?

Because I took this on an angle you can see some of the glimmer. I sprayed the card over-all with Gold Pearl-X. This was to seal the pastel’s on the flower petals, but a little glimmer everywhere is always a good thing

2010-03-20 005

Oh, and see the little blossom down in front of the card? I made 3 to go on the card, but seriously, it looked bad. There was just not enough space on the medallion to make 3 flowers work, so I just left it off. It will go into the inspiration box for another card someday.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Marita permalink
    2010/03/20 10:00 pm

    I love several things about this card. The layout is nice. Really like the lattice punched on one side, and love the flowersoft rounded flower centers. Now I know I’m needing to get some flowersoft. I keep seeing things that you use it on that look so nice. Great job…

  2. Brenda Faylee Turner permalink
    2010/03/20 11:24 pm

    Wow! This is absolutely beautiful, even stunning! I LOVE this MS border punch! Gee, I sure hope SU comes out with some of these XL border punches! Love it! Thanks so much for sharing. What a great job you did on this exceptional card!

  3. Carol permalink
    2010/03/21 1:11 am

    What a BEAUTIFUL card!! 3-1/2 hours is a labor of love and so many wonderful elements about the card . . . . IF you do give the card to someone, it will be someone special whom you know will treasure the card. I LOVE the idea with the lattice border punch on one side of the card front. I will be keeping that in mind.

  4. Pat Wilkinson permalink
    2010/03/21 5:06 am

    YUP, I would be saving this card and putting it on display.
    I don’t know to many people that I would send this beautiful card to.
    It is gorgous and took to long to make.

  5. 2010/03/21 7:20 am

    This is beautiful. I know 3.5 is a long time but it was well worth it. TFS

  6. 2010/03/21 7:21 am

    Very pretty! Love the colors and the layout. Don’t you wish sometimes you could stamp the cost of the card (including your time!) on the back of it like the Hallmark cards? 😉

  7. Margaret Harrell permalink
    2010/03/21 7:43 am

    I laugh that it took you 3 1/2 hours to make the card and that you think that is a long time.
    I would kill to be able to come up with a card half this pretty and in 3 1/2 weeks!

  8. 2010/03/21 8:14 am

    This card is Gorgeous! All the elements of your card are FAB-ulous .. the colors, the layout and I love those flowers with the FS centers, TFS how you achieved the result! I love the punched lattice and that you also used your crimper for dimension.. the mitered corners framing the dsp was Genius and the word stamp over the dsp was a great addition too.. You may have spent 3 1/2 hours but it shows that you paid attention to the detail and I’m really lovin’ the results!

  9. Wanda M permalink
    2010/03/21 8:29 am

    Beautiful! How did you make the circles – with SU’s new circle cutter? And where do you get the “flower soft”.??? I love the card – it’s gorgeous!~

  10. 2010/03/21 9:07 am

    Well, at least you got a beautiful card after all that time!!! I do know what you mean, though. It can take three hours for me to make a “clean and simple” card!

  11. RubberLady603 permalink
    2010/03/21 6:14 pm

    What a beautiful card. Well worth all that time! LOL! Everything works so well together, the colors are just gorgeous!

  12. Anne permalink
    2010/03/22 10:53 am

    This is a masterpiece. It has a framed flower arrangement quality to it. Thanks for sharing this.

  13. 2010/03/28 6:47 pm

    Love this card and I have this punch too – haven’t gotten to play much with it, but this inspires me to finally use it! Thanks for the beautiful card share!

Trackbacks

  1. 2010-03-21 Something recycled « The Craftiblog
  2. 2010-03-23 Last of the flowers from the marithon card « The Craftiblog

Leave a comment