Skip to content

2009-09-10 What would you do with a pre-historic fish?

2009/09/10

My stamping buddy Karen sent me a few of these pre-historic looking fish images and asked me to see what I could do with them. I’ve never been good when the pressure is on so I hope this will meet with her approval.

I got these two black stamped on olive green images and one black stamped on white image. I used the white one and colored it to match my DSP (decorative scrapbook paper by DCWV)

2009-09-10

Here is what I came up with. I used a blending tool and added color to the base card boarder. Then Added some green to the DSP. I don’t have any underwater vegetation images so I substituted Stampin Up’s pine branch, stamped in old olive. The gone to the beach words are a $1 stamp from Michael’s. The silver “flasher” is actually from one of my fishing lures. I attached it so it would wobble with a square silver brad. I used a Martha boarder punch on both the DSP and also on the base card, edging the DSP with a gold metallic marker. Why I didn’t think to use silver there, I’ll never know. (sigh)

2009-09-10 (2)

I used an aqua brush and an ink pad in turquoise to color the body of the fish. Then dipped the brush in iridescent medium and rubbed that over his body for a pearly sheen. I carefully cut the image out and used 3-d mounting tape in various heights so he would bend out a little more in the middle. I used some of my homemade faux dew drops in clear, this time using crystal effects to glue them down. I also added a drop to the top of each drop, letting it self level over the drop giving it a nice shiny wet look. I also added one more drop of crystal effects of the fish’s eye.

2009-09-10 (3)

I thought the card needed some sea shells (by Stampin’ Up, Stippled Shells), these are embossed in silver.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lesley Clark permalink
    2009/09/10 6:46 am

    This is so cute. I love the 3D effect you got with the different heights of tape!

  2. 2009/09/10 1:52 pm

    I bet she thought she was going to stump you with it.
    You did a fantastic job. All your creations are breath taking.
    Vera

  3. Billie permalink
    2009/09/10 10:18 pm

    OMG you did an awesome card with the fish (one of my stamps Karen borrowed) and she will love it as I do. We both had fun making cards with the fish but they were not as good as yours(well at least not mine) How wonderful… great as always. I was waiting to see what you came up with and of course you pulled it off wonderfully.

  4. karen permalink
    2009/09/14 11:51 pm

    Waaaay better than I imagined. You saw what I did with my images, and it was good until I saw your take on the fish! thanks for playing with this image, keep up the GREAT work!

  5. 2009/10/21 8:14 pm

    u r marvellous!

Leave a comment