Skip to content

2009-07-15 Friendship is a Sheltering Tree

2009/07/15

Finally! A rain day and I don’t have to work on painting the outside of our house. That is what my major project has been these days (sigh).

I grabbed my coffee and box of scrap papers and started working on Mary Jo’s Sketch TSSC78 I dunno what it is, the sketch looks clean and easy but this morning nothing was clicking with me. My friend Sally sent me some punchies of a fence that I had wanted to use since she was nice enough to mail them to me so I started with that. Sally told me that this is a Martha Stewart punch. {Thank you Sally!} Then came the tree and leaves and doggone if I didn’t even have some tree words that I got years ago at a rummage sale and never even used. (words by Delafield Stamp Company {now a closed company or I would have been at their stamp store})

2009-07-15 (1)

I took some distress ink to the fence and then a black micron pen and drew in some wood grain lines. I used the distressed stripes on the bottom piece of DSP and then rubbed lightly with some Antique Linen distress ink. The leaves are a die cut from Sizzix called Branch w/leaves.

Here you can see some homemade dew drops These are the ones pictured in the link that show they’ve been colored with alcohol inks. You can see the leaf die cut in the background. I cut these out of an olive green DSP but it looked to plain so I used a blending tool to add shabby shutters distress ink. Finally before adding the branches to the card I dusted them with Gold Pearl-X. The edges of the mats are a gold metallic marker drawn on.

2009-07-15 (2)

The tree stamp is by Stampin’ Up and is from the set called Thoughts & Prayers. Another Thank-you goes out to Vigilant20 that gave me this versatile set!

Just a side note; I am now keeping the tree words in the same box as the tree so I remember to use them.

And don’t you wish that Cuttlebug would have the names of the embossing folders ON THEM? I have to look up what the name is of a folder every time I use one other than Swiss Dots LOL!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. 2009/07/15 1:14 pm

    Something was clicking ’cause that is a gorgeous card!

  2. 2009/07/15 1:21 pm

    Bonnie, this card is absolutely stunning. Thanks for the Techno reminder.

  3. 2009/07/15 1:55 pm

    This is beautiful, Bonnie!

  4. Patti permalink
    2009/07/15 2:45 pm

    This is an awesome card!!!!! I was just looking at it and said to myself that it would make an excellent wall hanging if it was made bigger. The card is beautiful!!!!

  5. Sheena permalink
    2009/07/15 2:57 pm

    lovely…and I’m with you on the cuttlebug folderes – I had to look up the name of spots and dots today!

  6. 2009/07/15 6:46 pm

    I really, really like this!

  7. Shelly Schmidt permalink
    2009/07/16 12:03 am

    Wow- this is really fabulous! You did a great job- and I just LOVE the Tree sentiment.

  8. 2009/07/16 7:32 am

    Another gorgeous card, Bonnie! I sure love all your elements. Everything about it is just perfect. Wonderful sentiment, and very cool the way the leaves are under that panel.

  9. Bernie permalink
    2009/07/18 9:22 am

    I use my Dymo labeler to put the name on the front of my folders and die cuts. Saves my brain cells! – Ü

  10. Barbara permalink
    2009/07/18 6:32 pm

    Hi card-buddy! Love this one ~ you did a great job. Thanks for sharing. As for the Cuttlebug folder names, I agree totally. Good hint from “Bernie” about using the Dymo labeler to label each one. I’m going to do that ~ sometime.

  11. 2009/07/19 8:21 pm

    This is such a fabulous work of art. Just jaw dropping gorgeous. Great job. Thanks so much for playing along.

  12. Billie Anderson permalink
    2009/07/19 11:57 pm

    You inspire me, I love what you come up with and can’t wait for the next piece of art that you will be sharing.
    Thank you for having a blog so we can enjoy your work.

  13. joanne permalink
    2009/08/01 9:20 am

    I have a label maker that prints on flat “tape”. I peel the backing off and stick it on the upper right hand corner of my cuttlebug folder. Voila! Each folder is now labeled. You can also use a sharpie fine point fo your labels! My /Brother P-touch label maker was a gift from the kids one year to get me organized and well that label maker has come in extra handy. jdgilch@msn.com

  14. 2009/08/24 9:29 pm

    Absolutely GORGEOUS Bonnie. You’ve created a wonderful piece of art. I love how you re-discovered your tree words. You’ve sooo got the touch.

Leave a comment