Skip to content

2009-05-26 5.5″ x 11″ finished TRI Shutter Sample

2009/05/26

A while ago I worked on a template for the TRI Shutter card using 5.5″ x 11″ card stock vs. 12″. Here’s the template: Tutorial for 5.5″ x 11″ TRI Shutter card

I started the finished sample last week before the Memorial Day Weekend and when I returned today I put on the finishing touches.
This is the closed view:
2009-05-26 (1)

open
2009-05-26 (3)

So you can see the folds
2009-05-26 (2)

Close up so you can see how I assembled the flower medallion with seed beads
2009-05-26 (4)

There are a butt load of materials, but I know someone will ask lol! Here ya’ go:

Base: Olive Green Card Stock, cocoa brown
DSP: First Blush by Studio D & Best Occasions Punch-out pack by Wal-Mart
Die’s & Punches: Giga Scallop circle punch, Large standard circle by Marvey; tags & leaves by Sizzix; daisy punch by Marvey; Nestabilities Label 3
Stamps: All by Stampin Up: Sets Wonderful You; Pocket Silhouettes and Simple Sketches
Assessories: Ribbon: Offray; Gold cord: SU; Pearl seed beads; copper brad; 3-d mounting tape; UTE Clear embossing powder; chalk; white glitter puffy paint; fiskers paper crimper

Edited to add: I knew I should have explained how I did the flower medallion. I got an email asking me just that.
Building the flower medallion:
1. Start with punching a giga scallop circle (cocoa brown); rub the edges with an ink pad (your choice of color; I used copper); snip each scallop a few times to make it look flower like.
2. punch a large circle and add it to the center. (you can barely see this but it is a olive green DSP) It will cover the ends of the snipped scallop in case the petals from the flower don’t cover it.
3. Stamp the flower (not the stem) on orange DSP; emboss in detail black. Rub petals with orange chalk. Push a watermark pad over the entire flower; add clear UTE and emboss. Cut each petal completely out; set aside.
4. Punch a 1″ circle; add glue to the outer perimeter or add industrial strength tape. Take one of the individual flower petals and add it as close to the edge of the circle as you can. Add petals completely around the circle for the 1st layer.
5. add another layer of glue; add a 2nd layer of petals. Space the petals so that they go over gaps in the first layer.
6. Add glitter puffy paint or crystal lacquer to the flower’s center. Pour beads or glitter into the wet glitter glue or lacquer. Because I used pretty large pearl seed beads I also added a little crystal lacquer over the top to help hold them together. Let dry.

Other TRI Shutter samples:
5.5″ x 12″ full card front
5.5″ x 12″ Original Version
5.5″ x 11″ Turquoise & Caramel color theme swap

*****************************************************************

07-29-2009

N-E-W!! VIDEO TUTORIAL! Beate Johns was kind enough to make a complete video tutorial on my TRI Shutter card sample. It is hosted on SplitCoastStampers.com under resources.

Here is the direct link: Video Tutorial on TRI Shutter Card

You’ll need to scroll down the page past the photo tutorial (don’t forget to look at the newest version of TRI Shutter card that I made along with a fan fold flower!); at the bottom you will see the video.

Not only does she make another wonderful sample for you to see, but you get to hear her cute little accent!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. 2009/05/27 6:23 am

    Wow what a fabulous card! The colours are lovely and I’m so excited now I can make the Tri shutters too, thanks to your tutorial 🙂

  2. 2009/05/27 8:07 am

    Another amazing card! Thanks so much for sharing – it’s beautiful!!

  3. 2009/05/27 10:23 am

    WOW! This is absolutely gorgeous.

  4. 2009/05/27 2:40 pm

    Sounds like you spotted a few things there. Now that you mention garage sales, the neighber had one, but only kids clothes, so no morsels for me. I didn’t see any advertised near me this weekend. I have found a number of things over the last couple of years.

  5. 2009/05/27 2:47 pm

    I posted my comment on the wrong section. oh well. Delete that… and I’ll post to the correct one on your yard-sale goodies.

    I want to try the 5 1/2 ” X 11″ card first. I love your cards using this process. And thank you so much for the tutorials. I think they would go to special friends. One of a kind card. I did post a link on my blog to your blog. I’ll be back – as the Terminator said….

    http://arlenesbits.blogspot.com

  6. 2009/06/04 3:28 pm

    This is just so beautiful….thank you so much for sharing this.

  7. Fi Stevens permalink
    2009/07/03 5:29 am

    Thanks so much for this tutorial. I only have 81/2 x 11 Cardstock, so I am soooo excited I can now try this type of card.

  8. ibeestampin permalink
    2009/09/03 7:57 am

    Hello Bonnie,

    First I want to say thank you for taking a peek at my blog. I hope you liked what you saw? I grabbed your link this morning from my stats and decided to take a peeksy at your blog. I love this card and I’ve been wanting to do one of these for quite some time now. I’ll have to give this a whirl. Great job and thank you so much for sharing!

    Sazzy/aka Cherie

  9. mis bee permalink
    2009/10/09 12:48 am

    u made it look so easy not too good with the measurements, verry pretty

  10. Vicki permalink
    2009/10/30 4:45 pm

    Absolutely beautiful card! You are such an inspiration to a newbie cardmaker. Thanks for the clear instructions.

  11. sheri permalink
    2010/10/15 6:03 pm

    beautiful embellishing

Trackbacks

  1. 2009-05-12 5 1/2″ x 11″ TRI Shutter card template « The Craftiblog
  2. 2009-05-05 TRI Shutter card & Tutorial (full card front) « The Craftiblog
  3. 2009-04-23 TRI Shutter card sample & tutorial « The Craftiblog
  4. 2009-06-03 Turquoise and Caramel (Tan) TRI Shutter 5.5 x 11 « The Craftiblog

Leave a comment