Skip to content

2011-12-28 SC365 Nature is the art of God

2011/12/28

The whole point of this card was to play with a new sizzix die that I acquired this past weekend. It is a scallop flower. I’ve seen samples where the flower, if cut in brown and tightly wrapped can be used for a pine cone. Yep, I had to try that. I was so in a hurry this morning to get it done. The final result in my opinion, doesn’t look quite finished.

2011-12-28 001

I used quite a few items while making this card and I have an awful lot of clean up when I get home from work tonight. I pulled all the things out to make this and then left in a rush to make it to work.

Some of the items are…Stamps: Linen background stamp; Flourish by I think TPC Studios and Nature is the art of God by TAC (The Angel Company). The punches/dies used are Sizzix flower die (pine cone), tag by Stampin Up and pine branch by Martha Stewart. I also used a Tim Holtz/Sizzix embossing folder and some twine.

I took a couple of pictures and the ones I’m showing now are the only ones that turned out. This close up shows (I hope) the pine cone.
2011-12-28 003

If you would like to give this sketch a try, hop over to SplitCoast and check out this discussion: SC365
there is also a link to the gallery so you can see all kinds of great samples.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. lois Skiathitis permalink
    2011/12/28 9:13 am

    Your card is lovely Bonnie, it looks very rustic and quite masculine to me. I can see the pinecone it’s very cool looking. Love the colors on this card and the embossing is always a nice added touch. TFS!!! 😀

  2. Maggi G permalink
    2011/12/28 11:08 am

    That’s a lot of work before leaving for work! If anyone is interested in making pine cones, check Tim Holtz’s blog for the 12 Days of Christmas Tags. He has a lengthy video on making the pine cones. I have 11 months to learn how to do this!!!!!!!!

  3. 2011/12/29 9:42 am

    Pretty card, pretty pine cones! All your other new cards are great, too, Bonnie! Hope you had a very merry Christmas and have a great 2012.

  4. Chrissy Bornfleth permalink
    2012/01/24 3:11 pm

    Just a thought…. Maybe the card wouldn’t look “unfinished” as you stated if the pinecone was more predominant. It is kind of hidden under the beautiful greenery. Either put the pinecone more in front of the greenery or have 2 pinecones in at least one of the corners.
    chrissy

Leave a comment