Skip to content

2017-11-08; Background fail; & resurrection

2017/11/08

When I was working on the umbrella card for a swap I was puttering around to come up with an idea.  I had a piece of card stock from an oriental stack and just stamped a few images.  Obviously this didn’t make the cut as I went with something else.  I did like the basic texture of the card stock so I decided to re-purpose it.
2017-11-07 (1)

Here I took gesso and lightly covered the surface; then spritzed on some Color Burst powder’s in blue and green.  I thought they would bloom with the wetness of the gesso, but they didn’t so I spritzed with water.  Woof!  It turned out really dark so I tried to brush a little more gesso into it.

2017-11-07 (2a)

 

I honestly did dry the piece inbetween steps.  It didn’t help…once it got wet again all the colors started to swim again.  Here I tried to use a stencil to add a lighter color on top.

2017-11-07 (4)

When the stencil ink dried; it faded away.  So next I stamped using a fancy script, flourish swirl and honeycomb pattern in brown Stays On ink, black Versa Fine and gold metallic pigment respectively.
2017-11-07 (5)

Finally I added stencil paste through a stencil.  As it dried I could see the white paste soaking up some of the Color Burst ink from below.
2017-11-07 (6)

So what did I do with the piece (measures about 4×6″)?  I cut it in half and made this.  I should have used a bigger piece so you could see more of it.  Live & learn.
2017-11-08 (3)

Here is a close up of the stamping & texture.

2017-11-08 (2)

And one last look at the card before you go on about your day.
2017-11-08 (1)

Stamps-

Cloud 9 Design (C9 Stamp 4×8 Patterns 1 #66060) swirl flourish  This is a set of 3 stamps.  As to age; I found one sample from 2011 where I used the text; so that set is at least 6 years old.

Fruit of the Spirit text stamp   I found a sample using this script stamp from 2009, so 8 years old.

and finally
Stampers Anomymous (J1-617) honeycomb image.  I’ve had this used stamp for a few years.  I think it was originally from Sonia’s Estate which was gifted to me when she passed.  It is a wood mount and looks well loved, no idea on the age of this stamp.

I added this card to the retro rubber challenge #rrcb75

This is also a color challenge this week.  I picked colors from the inspiration photo of white, blue, green and the beige.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. janclothier permalink
    2017/11/08 1:16 pm

    It was very interesting to see the evolution of your paper. It turned out beautifully and has amazing texture. Thank you for joining us at Retro Rubber Challenge this week.

  2. ribbons3 permalink
    2017/11/09 3:24 am

    Lovely to see what can be done with different items . Your work is so inspiring ! Wait every day to see what is coming next

    • 2017/11/09 11:12 am

      Well, thank you Ma’m! Now you’ve got me wondering what’s coming next? 🙂 I haven’t figured that part out yet.

      • ribbons3 permalink
        2017/11/17 3:52 am

        How do i join your site to get into my email ?

  3. Debbie permalink
    2017/11/09 7:37 pm

    I love how you just experimented away and didn’t give in. Because of that, you ended up with an absolutely gorgeous card! Thank you for playing along with us at Retro Rubber and hope you will be back in our gallery soon!

  4. 2017/11/11 6:15 pm

    Beautiful! What a great story of mistake to a keeper of a card. I was intrigued by the steps you went thru to create this one. The elements really come together – the stamping, the color burst, and that paste. Wow! I really want to reach thru the screen and feel the card. The bow is gorgeous! Thanks for joining us at Retro Rubber!

  5. 2017/11/14 3:08 pm

    I love that you did this. Sometimes we forget that part of our ‘craft’ is our ability to rescue a ‘oops’. Your card is beautiful and I am so glad that you revived it. Thanks for playing along with us this time at Retro Rubber. Claire DT

  6. Katy McGloin permalink
    2017/11/18 1:52 pm

    Wow… this is a wonderful mix of colors and textures! Absolutely love the final result! Thanks so much for sharing with Retro Rubber this challenge. Hope to see you often in our gallery!

Leave a Reply

