Skip to content

2017-09-12: Watercolor pigment background RRCB71

2017/09/12

Last week I was out shopping with my friend Jan. We visited a stamp store where I found some color burst pigment powder. I only picked up 3 of the colors to give them a try. I already had Dylusions spray inks and enjoy using them so I thought I’d play with these.

Here is the background I made using a combination of both the Dylusions and the Color Burst. It’s pretty, colorful and ok, really plain. Probably more plain because I used standard card stock to experiment with rather than water color paper. Now the work of trying to figure out what to do with it to make an attractive card.

2017-09-04 (1)

Here I pulled out a stencil, stencil paste, and loose glitter. Even if this didn’t work, it’s only sprayed paper. I’m glad the stencil paste was still ok. Last time I used it was about a year ago!

2017-09-04 (8)

Here is the damp background with paste/glitter mixture. While it was still damp, I dusted the surface with loose gold eye shadow from the dollar store and it added lots of glimmer.

2017-09-04 (7)

Here is close look at the glitter embedded in paste and the glimmer of the eye shadow.

2017-09-04 (6)

I pulled out a stamp & die set to work on the card while the paste was drying. Stamp images (dots & small sentiment) by Hero Arts as well as the stacked die cut “happy” The “happy” was die cut 5 times and stacked by fussy gluing the pieces together for stability.

2017-09-04 (5)

Here you can see the corner detail (die cut stitched edge and embossed with die) and stamped dot.

2017-09-04 (2)

I carefully lined up the small sentiment on a scrap of paper which was die cut to match the rest of the frame. Which I promptly lost in the clutter on my desk (still haven’t found it) and had to redo. I quickly glued it down before I lost this one too.

2017-09-04 (3)

And one last look at the rescued, prettied up background now made up into a card. I cut everything down to fit a smaller sized envelope that I already had on hand. Yep, I did this design backwards just to use the envelope I had gotten from the thrift store in bulk.

2017-09-04 (4)

Thanks for stopping by!

This card was entered into the Challenge 71 at Retro Rubber Challenge Blog

In order for the design to be eligible at least one of the stamps you use must be older than 1 year old. I was able to find a blog post using the same stamp and die set from 2016, where I combined this same stamp & die set with a rummage sale find, so I’m good!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. janclothier permalink
    2017/09/13 4:58 am

    What a spectacular card! Who knew that gold eye shadow could be a fabulous addition to a card! I love your bright base background and it was interesting seeing how you built it up to the finished card. Great result – love it! Thanks for joining us at Retro Rubber for our Anything Goes challenge.

  2. 2017/09/13 12:19 pm

    Wow…. you are the thrift queen for finding amazing stash papercrafting items! LOVE the texture and sparkle with this card!!! And I need that happy die cut!!! Thanks so much for playing along with Retro Rubber this week. Hope to see you often in our gallery!!

  3. Maria Rodriguez permalink
    2017/09/13 1:32 pm

    Oh WOW!! this is so beautiful!!! love all the shimmer and the awesome color wash behind this embossed images.
    I also didn’t know you could use eye shadow this way, I don’t use it on me but now I know it adds such a pretty shine to cards, I will go and get me some for sure.
    Thank you for sharing with us at RETRO RUBBER, hope you play again soon.
    Hugs,
    Maria Rodriguez.

  4. 2017/09/13 2:17 pm

    This is amazing!!! Gold eyeshadow now has a new use in my house LOL. Thanks for joining us at Retro Rubber this time. Claire DT

  5. 2017/09/13 9:15 pm

    Totally cool use of non-traditional crafting materials! You really opened my eyes to what else I could use! LOL Thank you for playing along with us at Retro Rubber and hope you will join us again soon.

  6. 2017/09/15 1:20 am

    Wow, beautiful card, so many different layers and details. Who would have know you could use eyeshadow in card making. Thanks for sharing with Retro Rubber Challenge Blog.

Leave a Reply

