Skip to content

2017-08-05; the last distress ink background

2017/08/05

I saved the ugliest piece of background for last. With this sample I will show you not to toss something this butt ugly. Wait till you see what it turns into.

Here is the distress ink background. On this piece I went direct to paper with the ink pads.

2017-08-03   (1)

Because the colors turned out so very dark, I pulled out a stencil and gesso and sponged/tapped the paint on.

2017-08-03   (8)

I took a second stencil and sponged/tapped on gold acrylic paint. Man this now looks stinkin’ cute! I would buy DP that looked like this.

2017-08-03   (7)

The hardest part was how not to cover up the entire background now that I like it. I die cut the word smile and put it at the bottom so that most of the colors are center stage.

2017-08-03   (6)

The next few photos will show a look at a couple of details. I used a cube block that had this flower on it by JudiKins. The flowers were each stamped, cut out, colored and flower soft added.

2017-08-03   (4)

When I was at the dollar store I picked up a sheet of puffy stickers. They were all assorted mini images and this little bug was perfect.

2017-08-03   (3)

As I was assembling the background, I also added texture with an embossing folder & added perfect pearls to the raised image.

2017-08-03   (2)

And one more look at the finished card before you go on about your day….

2017-08-03   (5)

See what can happen when you just continue on and experiment? I like the background so much that I’d kinda like to make another piece!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kay Carlson permalink
    2017/08/05 7:40 pm

    You sure made “lemonade” out of your lemon, Bonnie, but I DO like the original bkgd. I can see an underwater scene (w/mermaids, of course) with a shaft of sunlight piercing the water! Great “save” of your mistake!

  2. Chrissy Bornfleth permalink
    2017/08/06 2:00 pm

    Well, I wouldn’t call the start of it ‘butt ugly’!!! However, it definitely needed something, and you did a fantastic job. I like the idea of the perfect pearls on the embossed image.
    Chrissy

Trackbacks

  1. 2017-08-30; Card sketch & card parts | The Craftiblog

Leave a Reply

