Skip to content

2017-07-30; Distress inks; stencils and stamps.

2017/07/30

Today’s design started out with me watching a video by the frugal crafter. Her general mantra is that you should use what you have and just create. I have a lot of stuff; but what I don’t have are the new Oxide inks. After having watched Ms. Lindsey I pulled out my distress inks and found that she was right. I still get a lot of color from my ink pads albeit with different looks.

This card started out as a white piece of card stock….

2017-07-30 (1)

A look at the background lets you see some of the distress inks that I added; stenciling with both gesso and gold acrylic inks and then overstamped. Finally, I embossed the edges with an embossing folder and smeared glitter with a palette knife over the raised edges. This gives it the right about of glimmer with out being gaudy.

2017-07-30 (2)

I just happened to have the right colored dragonfly…

2017-07-30 (3)

I’ve had these flowers for a few years; still working on using them up. I just made a mini arrangement at the bottom of the design.

2017-07-30 (4)

And one last look at the card before you go on about your day…

2017-07-30 (5)

I still want a bunch of colors of the oxide inks, but I do have lots of inks I can play with until that happens and I find an awesome sale.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kay Carlson permalink
    2017/07/30 8:41 am

    Another beautiful card, Bonnie! Lindsay is SO creative – I’ve followed her for a while, too. I don’t have any Oxides,either, but do have a lot of the Distress inks, so will have to give this a whirl. (I also have ribbon like what’s tied around the middle.)

    • 2017/07/30 11:51 am

      Thank you Ms. Kay! I do have to say though, my stuff isn’t anywhere near what the Frugal Crafter’s is!

Trackbacks

  1. 2017-07-31; by the sea | The Craftiblog

Leave a Reply

