Skip to content

2017-03-27; Embossed background challenge; colors gone awry

2017/03/27

When I receive a card in the mail it invariably includes either a stamped image or an embossed piece. Friday when I got a card from one of my stamping friends it included two, white embossed pieces the size of a card front. I decided to make it a personal challenge and see what I could make out them.

I combined the first card with another challenge at CardzTV; to make an Easter card using one of the sketches from the site. This design is sketch #17.

I started out by using distress inks and gently brushing the raised surface with them; holy katz that turned out bright. I took it to a box I keep for spraying things and waterlogged it down with sprays of water hoping to dilute it a bit. No such luck. After the piece dried I tried pulling out some card stock that matched the wild colors that had been inked. I couldn’t stand it so I took some gesso and dry brushed all of the pieces to lighten them up a bit.

2017-03-26 (7)

To further lighten, I added a wide piece of white lace. I also hand dotted glitter glue to the the pattern in the lace. Probably this cards only redeeming quality (sigh).

2017-03-26 (6)

And one more look at the card before you go on about your day….

2017-03-26 (1)

All I can say is, at least I finished the card. Everyone has different tastes, I hope the person who receives this will understand that all not cards turn out like I’d hoped.

This is

    my

craft journal so you get to see not only the good but the bad ones too. Sort of like…don’t do this again kind of look back lol!

Sketch challenge #5 at CardzTV using card Sketch #17

One Comment leave one →
  1. 2017/03/29 8:12 pm

    One thing about crafting, you never know until you try. Then if it works, you keep on. If not, you learn and try something else 🙂 That’s what makes crafting fun!

Leave a Reply

