Skip to content

2017-02-14; rolled roses

2017/02/14

As I was reading though my email I saw and advertisement for a card class. Check out the card; it reminds me of all of the 3-d flowers I used to make. Did you notice the price of the class? Up to $31 and they don’t supply the items you use. Finally, someone put a price tag on a handmade card 🙂

Ok, back to the card…I like the design but I think the background could use some upgrading.

unnamed

I pulled out a set of Spellbinder dies (Bitty Blossoms) and used the middle sized flower and all of the leaves.

2017-01-29 (1)

Here is a good look at those flowers. I also added a punched pine branch (Martha Stewart) for filler.
A little Wink of Stella was added to both the leaves and tips of the rose petals.

2017-01-29 (3)

My friend Maggi gave me some foil stickers when we first started stamping together. I still have them and put one of the phrases to use.

2017-01-29 (4)

The floating hearts are punches. I took some embroidery thread and tied them together.

2017-01-29 (5)

And one more look at the card…

2017-01-29 (2)

I think the DP background did add more interest. The base card is actually a pre-printed note card. The original color was too dark so I used some gesso and brushed some on to soften the deep teal.
The cone for the flowers was created by folding a 3 1/2″ square, bringing 2 of the sides together to form the cone.

This was a fun challenge but if you think about it, my card probably would cost more than $31 as I used additional supplies. I’d hate to think how much this design would cost if you didn’t have all of the items on hand. Please, don’t tell my husband. He does know as he see’s all of the craft supplies but an actual dollar amount would probably put him over the edge.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kay Carlson permalink
    2017/02/14 6:36 am

    Your card is WAAAAY better than the “class” card! And most stampers would probably have a lot of their own supplies to make it at home. Just beautiful, Bonnie, and Happy Valentine’s Day to you!

Leave a Reply

