Skip to content

2017-02-07; Small Talk Valentine

2017/02/07

Hello Stamper, glad you could come and look at today’s design. This started out not looking very promising. I’ve seen that happen before, while assembling the card looks butt ugly but if you take the time to finish it, it turns out surprisingly well. Which is the case with today’s sample.

I used the cartridge Small Talk to cut the banners. They were originally quite long so I just trimmed them down to size.

2017-02-07  Small Talk (5)

A close look at the love die cut shows that I stacked 5 die cuts on top of each other and then topped with a glaze. Everything was still a little wet when I took photos.
Take a look at the doily in the background. This is a purchased doily that I sponged on the edges; then tapped with an embossing ink pad and sprinkled with antique white embossing powder. It gave the doily more strength and a hint of glimmer.

2017-02-07  Small Talk (4)

This look faxu brads shows first of all that the glue is still wet…also that again I stacked some punches and topped with a glaze. In this view you can see that I used my sewing machine as well. Since I can’t seem to keep the sewing in a straight line, I just wiggled all over as I sewed the border. It turned out kind of cute.

2017-02-07  Small Talk (3)

I love how the banner turned out. I took the original pennants, cut them to size and stamped with assorted inks and stamps for background texture. Next I stamped the alpha letters on white cardstock then punched out, popped up with 3-d tape and added to the center of each pennant. Lastly I added an antique glaze over the center of each letter.

2017-02-07  Small Talk (2)

And one more look at my card before you go on about your day….

2017-02-07  Small Talk (1)

********************

This card is entered into these challenges:
Bitten By The Bug 2 – Valentine
Fantabulous Cricut Challenge #294 -Valentine
and
CardzTV Anything goes Designer Challenge #2

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Collette permalink
    2017/02/07 10:22 am

    Very, very pretty!!

  2. Caroline permalink
    2017/02/07 5:46 pm

    This is definitely an adorable card and not ugly at all! I love all the different elements of it and especially how you finished off the “love” cut. Thanks for joining us at BBTB2.

  3. Cynthia permalink
    2017/02/07 9:37 pm

    So many pretty details in this card! The wiggly border is perfect! Thanks for joining us at FCCB challenge this week!
    Happy Valentine’s Day!
    ~Cynthia

  4. 2017/02/08 9:53 am

    Wow, the layers, details, sewing, doily and dots are amazing. How could you possible thing it’s ugly? The wiggly lines are so IN right now and this is just beautiful. Great job on your accidental perfect design. Thanks for sharing your talent at Fantabulous Cricut!

  5. Susan Edwards permalink
    2017/02/08 7:32 pm

    Not promising! OMG girl, that card is stunning!! I love it!! I love the layers and the pennants. I really like the colors and the sparkle. The sewing is fabulous – as is the doily. Great job. Thank you for joining us this week at BBTB2.
    xxSusan

  6. 2017/02/10 2:45 am

    Your card is beautiful, all the layering and the glaze, perfect touches! Thank you for joining us at FCCB! Blessings, Jamie

  7. karla1229 permalink
    2017/02/12 10:40 pm

    Your card turned out fabulous! Love the banner and your awesome photos!! Thanks so much for joining us for the FCCB challenge this week! Hugs, DT Karla

  8. Maureen permalink
    2017/02/12 11:09 pm

    Awesome and beautiful card. Thanks for explaining how you made it. I want to try the 5 layer embellishments.

  9. 2017/02/16 1:47 pm

    Bonnie, your card is fantastic!! I love it!! Thanks so much for joining us for the Cardz TV Anything Goes Challenge.

Leave a Reply

