Skip to content

2016-08-25; Vintage butterfly

2016/08/25

For today’s sample I watched a video and then walked to my desk and tried to remember what I’d seen. Some things I remembered and some things not so much. 😉

Here is the vintage card that I came up with.

2016-08-21 (2)

This is the part I got a little fuzzy on. I did not remember that the butterfly’s in the video were actually stamped onto the aged handmade background. I used the Stamp & Cut by Hero Arts and made this large butterfly by spraying with Dylusions Ink Sprays, stamping, embossing and then die cutting. When it was dry I added 3-d mounting tape and molded the butterfly applying it to the vintage piece.
The glimmer that you see is a paint on iridescent medium (very similar to Wink of Stella).
2016-08-21 (3)

The Small butterfly was made the same way as the large, I just didn’t mold it.

2016-08-21 (4)

Rather than a big rectangle to stamp a word on, I pulled out a banner punch and tiny words (Stampin’ Up). I stamped first then punched out the words, punching out additional banners.

2016-08-21 (5)

One more look at the card before you go on about your day…

2016-08-21 (1)

I do like the pop of color that the butterfly’s bring to the design. Let me know what you think, an improvement on the original design or no?

I’ve included the video so you can compare and re-create your own design.

Video courtesy of Gina K Designs and StampTV.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

