Skip to content

2016-07-06; more Botanicals for You – paler nemesis color

2016/07/06

Yesterday I tried out this stamp set (Botanicals for You by Stampin Up.) Today I gave it another go; still using yellow but a paler shade.

I started with a background piece that was die cut from white (Thank you Ms. Lynette!) and started sponging colors onto it using stencils. The grid pattern that you see in the background is a Hero Arts stamp.

2016-07-03 (4)

Here I’m showing a close view of the words. I used espresso ink that had been stamped off once, then sprayed with water. I decorated the large letters by using acrylic ink and stardust jelly roll ink pen.

2016-07-03 (6)

I found this hand crocheted flower in my card parts box along with the Cricut cut stems (the green with white dots at the ends) and also the stamped & punched leaves. All these “found” items made quick work of putting this together. I just pieced them together and added a tiny sticker to the center to finish this off.

2016-07-03 (5)

And so that you can see a quick review of yesterday’s offering along with today’s version…

2016-07-03 (2)

I definitely like this version better. The yellow doesn’t hurt my eyes like in the first version 🙂 I just wish I had moved the jumbo sentiment up a bit higher. What do you think?

Thanks for stopping by.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 2016/07/06 11:44 am

    I love the way you decorated the letters, Bonnie – very clever! A difference in our “styles” for sure – although the second one is very pretty, I prefer the first one:) Glad you could make use of another die-cut piece!

    • 2016/07/06 4:07 pm

      Love those die cuts! I have not found them yet in the local big box stores 😦

  2. chicken46 permalink
    2016/07/06 12:06 pm

    I’m going to be controversial and say, whilst both are great, I like the first one better. I really like the bold black lettering. It did make me laugh that the yellow hurt your eyes. Today I found out there is a word for ‘fear of the colour yellow’. Who knew??

    • 2016/07/06 4:06 pm

      I didn’t know what that word was, but I’ve got it 🙂

      • chicken46 permalink
        2016/07/06 4:37 pm

        Sorry! I forget sometimes and choose rather ‘British’ words!! You can always tell me to just explain myself better – I wouldn’t be offended! xx

Leave a Reply

