Skip to content

2016-04-08; butterfly tag with Cricut Cartridge Picturesque

2016/04/08

These tags were made for a swap. The theme was anything of my choice but to use some of the “arty” techniques I’ve tried out lately from the Art Journal pages.

I started out by cutting my tag layers out using Mr. Cricut and the cartridge Picturesque. The finished tags are 5.5″ tall. If you cut with the cartridge select 2.75″ to get the 5.5″ size.

2016-04-02 (1)

Next I dragged the white tag through some distress stain that had been put on a craft mat. I sprayed the tag with water and let the colors blend.

2016-04-02 (2)

The butterfly was stamped and embossed. At first I left it white then I decided to use water color crayons scribbled on the craft mat to add color. I sprayed with water and picked up the pigment with a paint brush and applied.

2016-04-02 (4)

I stamped the verse and then carefully cut the sentiment apart so I could add at jaunty angles (that was for you Ms. Jane) Then I outlined them with a water color pencil and softened with water and paint brush.
2016-04-02 (5)

Before finishing assembly I added a die cut (the hexagon background) by Stampin’ Up and some stamping. Next the gold wire was stapled in place and finally the butterfly put strategically over the staples holding the wire.

2016-04-02 (3)

Thanks for stopping by today!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

