Skip to content

2016-03-14; Challenge–3 patterned papers

2016/03/14

I had time last evening while the boys puttered in the garage to put together a card for a 3-patterned paper challenge. For someone (me) who used to be a total DP snob* I think I did pretty well.

I used a sketch that I had found on line, 4 DP’s, 2 Cricut cartridges (Elegant Edges & Picturesque), a sentiment, a corner photo punch and crystal gems.

2016-03-14   Elegant Edges (3)

The butterfly was cut at 1-1/2″ from the Picturesque cartridge. I used a black base and then layered with 2 DP patterns & layers.

2016-03-14   Elegant Edges (5)

The sentiment is embossed in black and is from I believe a Fiskers acrylic stamp set. If you recognize it, let me know. I have long since lost the original wrapping as it was cellophane. The frame (Elegant Edges) was cut at 4-1/2″. I cut it a couple of times and used some of the extra cuts to pattern piece the 4 corners with the darker teal. I thought it really added a lot to the frame.

2016-03-14   Elegant Edges (1)

And once more look at the card before you go on about your day….

2016-03-14   Elegant Edges (4)

And just so you can see the various patterns I took a quick photo of them, well what’s left of them. I was able to get in a 4th pattern as well. I of course also used the teal card stock and white base.

2016-03-14   Elegant Edges (2)

I am glad I gave this challenge a try. It will also work nicely for a alphabet swap I have next month; this time the letter will be “B.”

This card was entered into challenge #4; 3 designer papers. I also used their latest sketch to complete the challenge, sketch #4.

*********************

*DP paper snob: I though it was cheating to use DP. We should be making our own backgrounds using the thousands of stamps we all have. I have totally changed my tune, thank goodness.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 2016/03/16 3:27 pm

    What a gorgeous card!! Love that pretty butterfly!! Thanks for joining us at Cardz TV!
    Gerda

Leave a Reply

