Skip to content

2016-01-13; 4×4″ Art Journal page #1

2016/01/13

I finished this page a week or two ago. I needed to wait until my partner in the swap received her page so that I could share with you. This is actually the first page that I made for this round of swapping. My partner liked the page and then wanted to see how I worked on a page and then I did the second page with tons of pictures.

The page on the left: I used bits and bobs from my embellishment stash…all of the items were pre-printed or pre-made (left-overs from other projects) so it was pretty painless to make this part. The background is made by painting, distress inking and then adding a paper doily. Once all the pieces were down, the surface coated with a clear gel, I sprinkled with Perfect Pearls in assorted colors.

The page on the right: painted with gesso, stamped the text & bird image on a piece of previously made jelly printed paper (from this fun and messy day); this was then glued down to the base and the edges were gilded by embossing with gold embossing powder.

2015-12-28  4x4 art journal page (2)

I made two pages, one to keep and one to share. On my page, I used the letter B and on my partner’s page the letter L.

2015-12-28  4x4 art journal page (1)

Here are the B & L pages together.

2015-12-28  4x4 art journal page (3)

I actually like the L page more, for it’s color scheme. The colors were determined by the pre-printed chip board letter’s I used. The page turned out quite thick as I put layers together to build the page (3 layers of water color paper). As I mentioned this is the first page that I made and because it’s so very thick, it will make a nice cover for the pages that are yet to come.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

