Skip to content

2016-01-02: Happy New Year shaped card

2016/01/02

Good morning to you (or afternoon, or evening or whatever time of day you see this.) Today I experimented in design space trying to size the image and keep all the other pieces the right size for matting. It’s easy if you remember right off the bat to do that. However; as a beginner I was of course trying to size it myself. Soooo not a good idea.

Today’s design came from Miss Kate’s Cuttables. They have such cute designs and I have lots of plans to try these out.

Here you can see all of the tiny pieces….wow. Lots of pieces!

20160101_122807

I decided to make an entire card out of the phrase. The colors used are navy, red, white and teal. The finished card measures 5.25″ wide by 3.5″ tall.
2016-01-02  Miss Kate's Cuttables (2)

I textured the background using a Stampin’ Up embossing folder. To get the darker shade on the bottom section of the balloon, I used a marker to darken that tiny piece rather than try to find the right color card stock. You can also see the 3 layers of the card plus the balloon layers as well as the sentiment layer.

2016-01-02  Miss Kate's Cuttables (3)

Here is the inside of the card…boring I know. But people will ask me how I got the hinge/fold of the card base. I experimented again in Cricut Design Space and was able two copy the card base, mirror it, and then weld the two pieces together to form one piece. I made sure to cut out an extra white mat so I’d have something clean to write on.

2016-01-02  Miss Kate's Cuttables (4)

And one last look before you go on about your day…

2016-01-02  Miss Kate's Cuttables (1)

This design took me quite a while. I do not have Design Space mastered by any means.  It took me quite a while to load, unload mats, and then figure out how to get to the screen where you can move your item to be cut somewhere else on the page because of where the paper was loaded.  There must be an easier way.  I hope to find it soon. Whew!

Thanks for coming by today!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. thepaperbaker permalink
    2016/01/02 3:40 am

    I LOVE this card!!! One of my favorites of yours! Fabulous color combo & such a creative layout 🙂

  2. 2016/01/02 10:49 am

    That is an amazing card! Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

