Skip to content

2015-07-11; center step card with Outdoor Man cartridge

2015/07/11

I received a text from my neighbor telling me she needed help working on a “bicycle birthday” card for her brother. I searched high and low through both stamps and cricut books and no bicycles. So I talked my husband into a stop at a craft store. We looked through all of the stamps both wood mount and acrylic and found nothing for a Trek bicycle enthusiast. Then I thought to try the sticker isle. We picked up a cute 3-d sticker pack that had all kinds of bicycle paraphernalia. I would have never thought of using stickers except that a few of my blog friends have done so with great effect. Thanks to Vickie and Lynette for the inspiration!

2015-07-02 20.21.10

Next I set out card blanks in different card fold styles; side step, center step, easel and a pop-up card.

When my neighbor came over I showed her the stickers and card blanks and asked her to choose the style of card she though would work best. As she made her choice we began to pick cardstock, DP and cut mats. I worked on cutting the trees and sign post from the cartridge Outdoor Man. Here is the finished design…

2015-07-09 Outdoor Man (2)

Here is the front view of the card. I taught her how to texture and shade each of the cricut cut pieces and then assembly. The sign post and trees turned out great! While she was assembling the trees and signpost I cut the mountain background out for the scenery behind the bicycle. I cut the mountain scene at 3.25″ and then cut each of the ends off to fit the small center panel.

2015-07-09 Outdoor Man (1)

Here I’ve tipped the card in another direction so you can see every bit of it’s 3-d goodness.

2015-07-09 Outdoor Man (3)

It was fun brainstorming with her and coming up with a card for her brother.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. thepaperbaker permalink
    2015/07/11 2:28 am

    That is one outstanding card! Way to go 🙂

  2. Dani permalink
    2015/07/11 6:58 am

    Love this card. Great work of art.

  3. 2015/07/11 10:19 pm

    What a fabulous card, and so perfect for her brother – awesome! Thanks for the shout-out:) I’d love to take some credit for helping, but I deserve none:)

Trackbacks

  1. 2015-07-17; Anniversary Jar & Plaque | The Craftiblog

Leave a Reply

