Skip to content

2015-07-02; Elegant Edges & Picturesque

2015/07/02

Today I dumped a bunch of card parts and die cuts on my desk and decided to make a card using the extras. It turned out surprisingly well considering I was about to toss a lot of it in the trash.

The rescued bits were the frame (from the cartridge Elegant Edges; cut at 5″) and the watercolor background. The lovely deckle edge on the bottom front of the card is from a scrap of handmade paper. I had just enough to make a card with it. I liked the edge and made sure to show it off.

2015-07-02 Elegant Edges-Picturesque (3)

The wings were cut at 1-1/4″ from the cartridge Picturesque. I cut velum for the blackout piece and plain white cardstock for the framework outline. I added prisma glitter and a gold metallic thread bow.

2015-07-02 Elegant Edges-Picturesque (4)

The sentiment is by Uptown Rubber Stamps and stamped onto water color paper that has been hand dyed using distress inks. I wanted the sentiment to stand out so it was stamped in coffee ink and then embossed with clear embossing powder.

2015-07-02 Elegant Edges-Picturesque (2)

It always amazes me when something I just put together with bits & bobs turns out. I have at least 2 more frames that I can do something with, so stay tuned!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 2015/07/02 8:52 am

    Great card! Love the wings cut with vellum and perfect sentiment!

Leave a Reply

