Skip to content

2015-06-29; Cricut Classically Modern Card #5

2015/06/29

It is obvious to me that I need more practice with cutting options. I cut a plain inexpensive piece of yellow card stock and must have used the incorrect settings. Ah, well. Live and learn I guess.

I won’t let my card go to waste, I decorated where I thought it needed and ended up with this.

2015-06-22 Classically Modern Cards (1)

On the largest section that needed help I added this “Friends” medallion. I used spellbinder long ovals and the sentiment is a die by Penny Black. This was cut out of gold foil card stock and gives it a nice glimmer helping you to look past the poor cut job. Or so I hope.

2015-06-22 Classically Modern Cards (3)

I should mention before you go on about your day that this was cut from the Cricut cartridge, Classically Modern Cards at 4.25″. I also made the matching envelope and it turned out less than stellar too. It’s just an envelope that will be torn open so I used it anyway.

2015-06-22 Classically Modern Cards (2)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. thepaperbaker permalink
    2015/06/29 1:44 am

    If the paper is of lower quality (cheaper), it won’t cut well with your Cricut. The fibers in low quality paper are spread apart more, therefore causing tears while cutting. Better quality cardstock (CTMH, SU etc.) fibers are more dense, therefore producing a cleaner cut. You are doing fine 🙂 just use the cheaper stuff for matting & the better quality stuff for your pretty intricate cuts 😉

    • 2015/06/30 6:25 pm

      Thanks so much. That helps a lot. I thought it was me and inaccurate settings.

  2. 2015/06/29 9:04 am

    That is a pretty die cut. It is a good “save”. I liked “thepaperbaker” explanation about the fibers in papers. That is good to know.

Leave a Reply

