Skip to content

2015-04-22; Crown for the Queen

2015/04/22

For the month of May I’m in a swap where I need to make a card with the theme “Queen”. Since I’ve been into making Cricut cards that’s where I turned as I knew I had seen a crown somewhere in one of my Cricut books. And I found it! The crown was cut from the cartridge Birthday Cakes at 3-3/4″.

2015-04-21 Birthday Cake - Graphically Speaking (2)

And I found a sentiment with the word queen in it too! This was found on the cartridge Graphically Speaking. I cut it out at 1-1/4″. Originally this was cut from the same cardstock as the card base, dark brown. However; it didn’t show up very well on the card front. To give it contrast I used white distress stain, coated it with lacquer and then sprinkled with champagne colored glitter.

2015-04-21 Birthday Cake - Graphically Speaking (4)

To get the insets and top star to look more like jewels I added red glitter with lacquer on top. It really makes those cardstock pieces glow like a gem.

2015-04-21 Birthday Cake - Graphically Speaking (5)

Since I don’t have fancy programs or gadgets to connect the two card pieces, I manually attached two card blanks together and made my own hinge.

2015-04-21 Birthday Cake - Graphically Speaking (1)

And one last look at the card before you go on about your day…

2015-04-21 Birthday Cake - Graphically Speaking (3)

I’m really liking all the shaped cards! It’s nice to get out of the rectangle for a while. And did you notice? I actually finished a card for a MAY swap. Let’s pat myself on the back for that one šŸ™‚

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gerry Soucek permalink
    2015/04/22 9:21 pm

    I love it!!

  2. 2015/04/27 9:42 pm

    Cute reminds me of the show Queen for the day.. Does that date me or what?? Great card.

Trackbacks

  1. 2016-09-27; Left over card kit craft day; remake 3 | The Craftiblog

Leave a Reply

