Skip to content

2015-03-27; Cricut’s Lovely Floral; Tag 1 & Flower 8

2015/03/27

I am still practicing with my Cricut so I’m ready for a teaching session with Maggi. I want to be pretty familiar with cutting and how big of pieces to cut for standard cards when I get to play with her.

On today’s sample I cut two images from the Lovely Floral cartridge. The Tag 1 and the Flower 8 and combined/layered them to form a large tag.

2015-03-24 (3)

The close up lets you see that I shaded each of the two tag pieces and embossed the cream layer with Swiss Dots embossing folder. The flower was cut in 4 different cuts and then I arranged the pieces individually. It looked pretty plain at this point so I got out my stencil and started etching in leaf lines. That didn’t do very much so I pulled out an extremely seldom used supply; Radiant Pearls. I have kept them in a plastic storage drawer and it’s a good thing I did as some of the little bottles leaked during my 2 recent moves. That really livened up the flower image so while the paint was still wet I lightly sprinkled on both clear and pink glitters.

2015-03-24 (5)

This photo shows my homemade brads, my sentiment and a really lovely background. The background got all but covered up. I took a book page (in German); painted it with gesso and then dipped it into distress inks. I love how this turned out and I will be doing that again soon. The faux brads are hole punches that have been stacked and glued together. They have been topped with Mod Podge and you can see in the photo that it is still drying. When they are totally dry, they will be clear. The Sentiment is mounted on two long ovals (Spellbinders) and embossed in gold. The sentiment is from TAC (The Angel Company).

2015-03-24 (6)

One last look at today’s card before you go on about your day…..

2015-03-24 (4)

In closing today I would like to share all of the gifts that I used in the making of this card design.

Striped decorative paper …. gift from Maggi.
German book page … gift from Maggi.
Brown/Kraft layers … gift of office folders from Jane.
Pink glittered ribbon … gift from Chrissy.
Old lace … gift from co-worker; Jenny who’s mother’s craft room got cleaned out.
Sentiment … gift from stamping friend, KellyRae.

The olive green card stock was purchased at a garage sale from Wendy.
The cream card stock was purchased from Carol at a rummage sale.

Thanks to one and all for donating and gifting me with supplies! You see? I really do use the stuff the ladies give me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 2015/03/27 7:30 am

    Great cards you’ve been sharing, Bonnie! Sorry I haven’t had time to comment, but they are all so wonderful. It’s great that you can get together with friends!

  2. chrissy bornfleth permalink
    2015/03/28 9:07 am

    You are so creative… it’s scary!!!

Leave a Reply

