Skip to content

2015-03-19 The Cricut is outta the box, again. Pagoda Fan

2015/03/19

I’ve had a Cricut machine for a few years. It’s a fun machine but there is definitely a learning curve to it. My girlfriend inherited a machine so I decided to make a space on my desk and see if I could remember how to make it work so I could help her with it. It has been in the box and moved twice in the past 6 months in a bouncy trailer so I was pretty surprised that when I plugged it in, it actually worked!

Here is what I came up with using the Pagoda cartridge. The fan is on page 64 of the booklet; cut at 3-3/4″ for those who are interested. It fits into an A2 envelope with about 1/4″ to spare.

2015-03-19 (1)

The flower is a stamp and punch set by Stampin’ Up called Flower Shop. I filled the center of the flower with glue and then piled Flower Soft on it and let dry.

2015-03-19 (3)

I cut 4 ovals (Spellbinders), stacked and glued together for a sturdy chipboard piece and then added the die cut Friends (Penny Black). The entire piece was coated with Mod Podge.

2015-03-19 (4)

Now, this picture may look weird but what I’m trying to show is how the shapped card looks opened. I don’t have the Cricut hooked up to the computer or have any of the fancy editing gadgets so I improvised. I put a score line using my Scor-Buddy down the front panel and added a narrow strip of Scor-Tape. This created a place for the card to fold open.

2015-03-19 (5)

One last look before you go on about your day….
for those who are into all things Cricut, I cut 2 of the shadow pieces to make the card base and connected them as described above. I cut one of the Fan and one of the fan-shift (that will make sense if you work with the Cricut); all at 3-3/4″.

I made my own mini tassels for the fans using metallic crochet thread. I lost the “button” on the brown fan after I cut it out (man those pieces are tiny) so I replaced the lost piece with a dot from a package of “Candi Dots.”

2015-03-19 (2)

I did cut out more pieces from the cartridge “Serenade” so be sure to stop back.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 2015/03/19 6:53 pm

    These are really cool, Bonnie! You do such great detail work. I have a whole bunch of those flowers out on my table, ready to be made into cards:)

  2. 2015/03/21 1:12 pm

    Oh glad I am not the only one who hasn’t used the Cricut much.. But at least you use yours..LOL. The fans are awesome. I like the flower soft for the flower center. looks like seaweed at first. Great texture and look. Fun projects.

Leave a Reply

