Skip to content

2015-02-28; Trying to copy Sheltering Tree

2015/02/28

I have been eying the new stamps that are out by Stampin’ Up. One of the very popular sets by the name of sheltering tree is really got me wondering if I can recreate something like it with what I have on hand. The answer is, yes I can; sort of. I don’t have the exact look but I do have lots of trees and splotches to create the dotted background. Here is my first attempt…

2015-02-18 (7)

The sentiment is something that I picked up at a rummage sale. It says on the wood block that it is by the Delafield Stamp Company…Just a few miles from where I live. When I first got the stamp I looked around to see if they were still in business; sadly no. But isn’t it perfect for an image with a tree? The sentiment is stamped on vellum, attached with eyelets and a flower added to finish it off.

2015-02-18 (9)

This looks messy close up, but nicer when you back away. The splotch in the background is from the SU set French Foliage. I used that as my filler then added leaves and some small stamped flowers. On top of that I added a tiny punched flower and filled it with a 3-d paint for the flower centers.

2015-02-18 (10)

And one more look at the full card before you head out about your day….

2015-02-18 (8)

Thanks for stopping by today and let me know what you think of the emulated Sheltering Tree.

Supplies
Build a Tree by Fiskars
Splotches by Stampin Up from the set French Foliage
Swoosh shadow stamp by Born to stamp
Friendship sentiment by Delafield Stamp Company
3 flower punch by Martha Stewart

2015-02-18 (5)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 2015/02/28 10:20 am

    I have the SU Sheltering Tree set that still hasn’t seen ink. That sentiment would be perfect! (Delafield, WI ??? – I know where that is…..my sister used to live there.)

  2. 2015/02/28 10:31 am

    I wish the company was still there! I would be there in a heartbeat. I only live a few mules from there.

  3. chrissy bornfleth permalink
    2015/03/07 9:58 am

    You’re right… perfect sentiment. And your punched flowers look like ready made embellishments that you can get at the craft stores!

Leave a Reply

