Skip to content

2015-02-21; Owl theme; Owl be thinking of you

2015/02/21

This months swap theme is owls. I searched high and low for the acrylic set I have that has some “owl” words and couldn’t find it. I guess that’s the hazard of having moved twice in six months. Some things I may never find. So I used my computer, two different fonts and 3 different type points and created my own owl-ish words. I also used a file folder page to make the base card. Jane supplied me with two boxes of file folders (heavy green chip board outer folder and craft inner folder); I will be trying to use them up in the months to come.

2015-02-16 (5)

This wonderful pine cone (and also the great snowflake border) are die cuts my friend Chrissy supplied me with. Although this is not a Christmas card, its really, really winter where I live. Zero degrees was the high for today with 25 mph wind gusts and snow. So I think a winter theme owl card is appropriate.

2015-02-16 (7)

Here is the “Owl be thinking of you” text that I created with my printer. I experimented and printed a number of different fonts and sizes on the same page. That way I knew I’d end up with one good one.

2015-02-16 (8)

And one more look at the card before you go on about your day…The owl is a $1 studio G wood mount which I inked in brown then using watercolor markers, “thumped” for color variation. I stamped the owl again and cut out the beak and popped it up on 3-d mounting tape. I added a little crystal effects on the eyes, beak and tummy and sprinkled with glitter. The background has a pine branch (Impression Obsession) and wood grain embossing folder (Sizzix/Tim Holtz). The faux button is a punch by Martha Stewart.

2015-02-16 (6)

Thanks for stopping by today….be sure to visit again as I have one more owl-ish card to share.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

