Skip to content

2015-01-26; Swap theme “nuts”

2015/01/26

The swap I’m getting ready for in February has the theme of “Nuts.” I had no clue where I was going to go with this. I think now that I’ve finished the card I do have a retired set by Stampin Up somewhere with a shadow stamp and a nut in it… Old age is a terrible thing. Wish I would have thought of that sooner.

Here is what I came up with using one of the card kit parts (the punched frame). I masked off the punched part of the frame and added some masking fluid dots. After that had dried assorted colors of distress ink were sponged in then stamped with a Hero Arts grid stamp (S5216) in gold pigment ink for shimmer. I rubbed off the masking fluid and die cut the oval.

2015-02-01 (2)

Since the theme was nuts, I made sure to add a couple as decorations. The tiny acorns are from the die Build-a-grape-vine by Cottage Cutz.

2015-02-01 (5)

I punched a heart and stacked 4 layers then added a couple of hole punches for the button hole. I covered the faux button with crystal effects and sprinkled with champagne colored glitter.

2015-02-01 (4)

One more look before you go on about your day…

2015-02-01 (3)

The crazed stamper is something I picked up at a rummage sale by Stamp City in Oshkosh, WI (G5012-E). I’ve never actually used it before so this was a good exercise for it. The sentiment is by Stamp Francisco (WO 454-c). The Flourish is by Cheery Lynn.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 2015/01/27 10:23 am

    You always have such great details on your cards, Bonnie! Love the acorns. Very appropriate image and sentiment for most of us. LOL!

  2. 2015/01/31 11:01 pm

    Ha Ha.. bahhhh ahh I can so relate.. sad it’s true.. Like this fun card.

Leave a Reply

