Skip to content

2015-01-04 Monochromatic Blue

2015/01/04

Today’s share was for a swap with the theme monochromatic. It didn’t matter what color we used, just so that the card was one color family. I went with blue, even the ink is blue.

The background started out as white card stock. I rubbed a Cuttlebug embossing folder with Blue Bliss and embossed. When the piece came out of the folder I then rubbed the raised images with Broken China.

2015-01-01 (1)

The pearls were originally white. I used a blue alcohol marker and colored them so they would fit with the theme.

2015-01-01 (3)

Once the card is opened, there is a little surprise…it’s a shadow box card; again everything is in blue, even the pine branches.

2015-01-01 (4)

This is just a little more of an angle so you can see the shadow box. I had some difficulty with the card stock, as it began to break. Let’s just pretend we all didn’t see that.

2015-01-01 (5)

And one close up so you can read the sentiment. I don’t know who makes this or the snowman as they are unmarked unmounted rubber. These are so old that I bought them before I knew I should keep track of these things.

2015-01-01 (6)

Which brings us back to the outside of the card.

2015-01-01 (2)

I hope my partner will like this. It’s been years since I’ve made a shadow box card. The shadow box tutorial is HERE in case you’d like to see how this was done.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 2015/01/04 8:02 am

    Very cool, Bonnie! I’m not sure I’ve ever seen a shadow box card before. I’ll have to check it out! You always have so much detail in your cards.

  2. 2015/01/07 11:25 pm

    Wow I have that embossing folder.. you gave it life. I love what you did. Stunning.

Leave a Reply

