Skip to content

2015-01-03 Watercolor gone amok

2015/01/03

A stamping friend sent me a link to a video and asked me to try my hand at water coloring. First off, let me say that water coloring takes practice. I’ve tried it once or twice with some limited success. So I gave her challenge a try.

I’m sorry I didn’t take a photo of my first attempt. I mailed it off to her to show her what I did I just forgot. Don’t worry; you didn’t miss anything. My effort was less than stellar. I told her that I hoped her sample worked out a little better than mine.

So I gave it a 2nd try and this is what I came up with. In the original instructions we were just supped to stamp the flowers, watercolor them and call it done; all on white water color paper. With what I had stamped the white just didn’t work. So I wet the whole background down and started laying in color. First a watery black and then I switched over to a dark navy color.

2015-01-01 (1)

The Penny Black flowers have only been used once or twice so I’m glad they came out for some fresh ink. Here is a close up of the sentiment by My Sentiments Exactly.

2015-01-01 (2)

In the original sample, the sentiment was stamped right on the card front. I think this double layer frame adds some interest.

I’m not to sure I should keep the water colors out but maybe if I keep trying it will get better. I can only hope 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 2015/01/03 11:41 am

    Good for you to try new things! Your card is pretty. I love watercolors, but I don’t use them, either. I hope you keep them out and use them some more. I like that you’re using your eyelets, too. I have thousands of them! LOL!

    • 2015/01/04 3:19 pm

      I have thousands too! Even if I put a few on every card it would take me years to use them up 😉

  2. Dorthy permalink
    2015/01/04 7:53 am

    Watercoloring can be very challenging, but I think you did a very nice card with your first attempts at this technique. Don’t give up, keep trying.

    • 2015/01/04 3:12 pm

      Thank you for your kind comment. It’s honestly not very good but I will try again.

Leave a Reply

