Skip to content

2014-12-31 Happy 2015! 2 cards; same die cuts

2014/12/31

I’ve been trying to come up with a design that I can use to mail out some New Year’s greetings with. This is the first try; sorry it’s nothing to write home about but I had to start somewhere. 😉

I started by die cutting the 2015 tags from a Cuttlebug Alphabet set called Fancy Pants. It is an entire alphabet set including numbers that my friend Maggi gave to me years ago. Every now and again I bring it out when I need numbers.

The “happy” is rubber stamped using navy blue and is from a retired Stampin Up set. I don’t remember the name of it as it sold in a rummage sale; I do remember that it had 3 penguins that stood together and spelled out the word joy. Anyone know the name of that set? I’ll mark the wood block that I have left from it.

2014-12-22 (1)

This next sample uses the negative numbers left over when I die cut the tags for the first card (above). I hand cut a banner and carefully glued the numerals to it. See all the punched glittery circles? They are left over from the family Christmas card I made this year. They were so pretty I didn’t throw them away. Instead I put them on my work desk in hopes of using them.

Here I glued random circles on a white piece of card stock. They kept trying to “pop” up on me so I used a Stampin Up embossing folder and impressed them into it.

2014-12-22 (1)

I used one of the glittery circles to create a faux button. I punched 5 black circles and added one glittery one to the top; stacking and gluing as I went. I then punched button holes into it. Instead of gluing it to the card at this point, I punched two additional holes in the banner and 3 of the mats. I ended up not using glue at all to hold it in place; instead I used a piece of black & white baker’s twine.

2014-12-22 (2)

To finish off the card I added some faux stitching.

I am not very fond of the first card, but the 2nd is a winner in my book. Let me know what you think?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

