Skip to content

2014-11-25 Happy Thanksgiving; punched bouquet

2014/11/25

I went through my stash and found I have already sent out all of the Thanksgiving cards that I had on hand. I made up these quick and easy cards so now I’m ready to send out some more Thanksgiving greetings. Thanks to Sally, my stamping friend for sending me a sheet of acrylic stamps last year for the fall season. I’m so glad when I use the items that were gifted to me!

2014-11-12 (1)

Here is a closer view of one of the cards. I used whatever fall color scrapbook papers (DSP) I had on hand, covered them with white card stock that had been embossed (Swiss Dots) and punched (Martha Stewart border punch). In order to find the right place to stamp Happy Thanksgiving, I added one of the white pieces, then stamped. It was easy to trim off the 2nd piece at that point to the right size.

2014-11-12 (2)

Here is a closer look at the punched leaves. I didn’t do anything fancy with them; I punched them out of assorted fall colored DSP and then crimped them. I also added some gold tinsel and as an after though some small flourishes I found in my Cuttlebug dies that I had forgotten I had. How fun is that?

2014-11-12 (4)

After I had finished up a set of these cards a stamping friend sent me the most adorable leaves. So I disassembled the leaf bouquet on the last card I had left and rebuilt it incorporating the little leaves. I changed out the punched leaves for larger ones and since I thought the lower right corner needed something as well I added the punched bird I made with Maggi and a branch.

2014-11-17 (1)

And a few close ups so you can see more of the details. The little crinkly leaves are the ones my stamping friend sent me (well, now that I think about it she gave me the sentiment too!). The larger leaves are made with a set of 4 Cuttlebug dies. After die cutting I added distress inks and then clear embossing powder for the texture and shine.

2014-11-17 (3)

And the bird on the branch. The bird is made using the Stampin’ Up bird punch and the branch by Tim Holtz.

2014-11-17 (4)

I love the stepped up version as well as the clean and simple one. Do you have a preference?

Thanks for stopping by today!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 2014/11/25 8:53 am

    Your cards are all so lovely and nicely-done, Bonnie! Happy Thanksgiving to you.

Leave a Reply

