Skip to content

2014-11-10 Theme of the month…Kites!

2014/11/10

I participate in a monthly swap that has a specific theme. Being in a swap such as this makes you really reach for the craft supplies in order to see if you can create something on topic. This month the theme is kites. After looking through my assorted stamps…nuttin’ honey. Oh I did find one kite from an old shadow stamp set by Stampin up but I didn’t really care to create a card around a 1″ image.

Instead I created a mini kite (it’s a lot like the cone wall hangings I did a few years ago) that has a tag that can be inserted into the pocket. Basically a fun pocket card in a different shape. To make this size kite, I started with a 6″ square and folded two of the sections until they met in the middle.

To make the tag, I traced the kite shape that I had just folded and started trimming 1/8″ off of every side. I ended up with the perfect size. Next I traced that piece onto a piece of DSP and repeated the trimming to end up with the correct size mat.

2014-10-28 (1)

Here is a close up of tag sentiment. It is by Hero Arts (D1994 Inspiration Prints Tree). I masked off the border and tree that was on the rubber and just used the sentiment that seemed appropriate for flying a kite. The sentiment was die cut using a Spellbinder die which was matted with a Memory Box corner flourish then again matted on another Spellbinder die. To each of the little flourish ends I added a tiny green crystal gem.

2014-10-28 (2)

Now I’ve inserted the tag into pocket. If I ever feel the need to write a note, I can either write it on the back of the tag, back of the pocket or insert a separate piece of note paper into the pocket.

2014-10-28 (3)

One last look before you go on about your day… The tail of the kite is not very visible however; it is there. It was made from a piece of material (same material as I use for my background in the photos). I attached in the inside of the kite before lacing up. The tail was then knotted and some mini bows tied in place.

2014-10-28 (4)

Thanks for stopping by today.

One Comment leave one →
  1. AnnWa permalink
    2014/11/11 10:19 am

    Love this! You amaze me! Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

