Skip to content

2014-07-24 Ghost Stamping with color

2014/07/24

Today I tried Ghost Stamping. I’ve done silhouette stamping before, but this was different in that you stamp in white first then over stamp slightly off using a color. My experiment came out less than perfect, so I used a card sketch and some die cuts to camouflage the imperfections. Here you can see part of the background that I made along with the finished card.

2014-07-22 (2)

I started with craft card stock. Stamped leaves from the Stampin’ Up sets, Simple Sketches, a small dainty leaf from the set Lovely as a Tree and finally filled in with a Rose Leaf from the Hero Art set Prints from Nature. These were all stamped in white, then again with a color just off set from the original image. I used three shades of green (light, medium & dark); a blue and then added some gold embossing. The last step before card construction was to use various colors of Blow Pens and add a splatter design in the background.

2014-07-22 (1)

I went through some sketch designs I’ve done in the past and found one that I thought worked with the background paper I had created.

2014-07-22 (3)

The sentiment is by Hero Arts, called Inspiration Prints-Dragonfly.

2014-07-22 (5)

I added a die cut from Memory Box called Pierson Corner. I use a scrap of gold metallic paper. I cut up the die cut and added bits and bobs round and about to add some all over glimmer. Two different punched butterfly’s both by Martha Stewart were punched from another gold metallic decorative paper and some crystal gems added to finish off.

2014-07-22 (6)

One last look before you go on about your day…

2014-07-22 (4)

Video tutorial courtesy of Darlene DeVries

Thanks for stopping by and as always; you’re comments are welcome!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 2014/07/24 2:15 am

    Beautiful!

  2. 2014/07/24 8:20 am

    What a gorgeous card, Bonnie. Thanks for all the details.

  3. 2014/07/24 9:21 am

    You may have been disappointed with some of what you did but you certainly covered it well. The card is really beautiful! It’s been a very long time since I tried that technique.

Leave a Reply

