Skip to content

2014-06-16 Basic Spirelli

2014/06/16

Today’s design involves trying a new technique…spirally. It is really a simple concept, take a punch or die cut and wrap a fiber or thread around it to get a pattern. I used a square scallop punch and metallic sewing thread and came up with these two designs.

2014-06-07 (1)

I know it’s hard to see in the group photo, so here are the close ups. This is the first card that I made using the medallion.
2014-06-07 (2)

A close up of the center medallion shows that I added texture by embossing the white background and again on the brown DSP by using my crimping tool. I placed the punched sentiment piece in the center and covered it with crystal effects.

2014-06-07 (3)

Here is a look at the 2nd card I made. Again I used embossing but this time added ribbon, a punched border and a die cut flourish.

2014-06-07 (6)

The medallion close up lets you see that I embossed this with gold. I also stacked 4 punched pieces on top of each other to give the piece strength, more like a piece of chipboard.

2014-06-07 (7)

In this view you see the punched border, DSP and gem border with various sizes of crystals.

2014-06-07 (8)

One last look before you go on about your day.

2014-06-07 (5)

The 2nd design is my favorite. I’d like to give this thread art another twirl to see what other patterns I can get.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Maggi G permalink
    2014/06/20 10:57 am

    Cool idea!!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. 2014-08-06 Yellow-Orange-Green color challenge; Take 4 | The Craftiblog

Leave a Reply

